Couple of queries from Tim and My last game.
(1) A broken formation with a unit within 15 cm and line of sight of a losing Assault.
I assume that the formation suffers a blast marker, and therefore loses a unit.
Quote:
1.12.8. Finally, any formations belonging to the losing side that were in a position to have lent support (i.e., they were within 15cms of an enemy unit in the assault) receive one Blast marker each, even if they did not actually lend support. These Blast markers represent the detrimental effect on morale of seeing friends defeated in an assault.
A broken formation and a formation that marched are not in a 'position' to lend support;
if you take position to mean location, line of sight and able to actually fire.
Here the explanatory brackets for position just refer to being within 15 cm.
The earlier discussion for providing support fire refers to Position, Line of Sight and
have not Marched and are not Broken.
Quote:
1.12.6 Supporting Fire
Both sides may call upon support unless the defender has been wiped out or the attack stalled as described above. Calling on support allows units from other formations to attack with their firefight value if they are within 15cm and have a line of fire to an enemy unit directly involved in the assault. In this case “directly involved” means belonging to the attacking or defending formation(s) and in a position to attack. This rule represents units from both sides that are not directly involved in the assault lending supporting fire when they see their friends coming under attack. Units from formations that are either Broken or Marched this turn cannot lend support.
(2) At what point do you determine whether critical hits have occurred in the shooting process.
Hits from AT are allocated and rolled first, if these caused a critical hit that knocked out a
Manta screen, does the Manta get a Deflector Screen save against the MW hits allocated later.
AT hits drop power shields first, then MW and TK go through to the actual war engine.
My feeling is that all hits are simultaneous. And that you roll for critical hits after all hits
have been resolved. Similarly the blast markers are applied after all hits have been
applied and resolved. But not the one for coming under fire which occurs first
(NOTE target formation does not break until all shooting has been resolved).
Looking forward to some clarifications. One day I think I ought to try and write a tactical manual for my Manta commander/pilots.