Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

[Question] Commander rule?

 Post subject: [Question] Commander rule?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:12 am
Posts: 29
The Commander ability - when it says "can order up to three formations of troops to follow them when they make an assault, as long as all the formations have at least one unit within 5cm of a unit from the commander’s formation." - Im assuming it means units that are eligible to assault this turn, not units that have already activated but are within 5cm of the commander? I cant march/move something up next to the commander in its own activation, then use the commanders activation to get it into assault?

There doesnt seem to be anything that says this isnt the case, but it doesnt 'feel' right?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Question] Commander rule?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:01 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
No, a formation may not march and then be 'commanded' to assault, as each formation may only carry out a single action per turn.
Quote:
1.6 The Action Phase

In the action phase, the players take it in turns to carry out actions with their unbroken formations. Each unbroken formation can take one action per turn. The player that won the strategy roll can choose whether to go first or second.

(My emphasis)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Question] Commander rule?
PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:16 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
from the FAQ:

"Q. Can a Commander initiate a combined assault with another formation that has already performed an action this turn or is broken? Does participating in an assault with a Commander prevent a formation from performing an action later in the turn?

A. A formation may only participate in an assault with a Commander if it would otherwise be allowed to make an Engage
action, and doing so counts as their action for the turn in all respects. "

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: [Question] Commander rule?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:12 am
Posts: 29
Cheers - I think it was the wording of 'assault' in the 'commander' that made me think it somehow didnt count as an engage action. We played it right in the game anyway.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net