First, very enjoyable battle report.
Second, you cannot summon daemons whilst of board.
Quote:
No guts, no glory. Taking into account the SL AA bubble over on my left, and t-bolts soon to be on CAP, I decide to go for the gusto and make an early try for BTS. The thunderhawk activates for an engage, the noise marines summon their 2 daemons (daemonettes in this case) and the whole bunch goes for the leman russes.
From 6.1.6
Quote:
Formations that are in reserve may
not carry out any game functions or use special abilities they may
have.
And from the FAQ
Quote:
Q: If a formation is offboard (awaiting teleport, in a transport aircraft, etc.) can
any special abilities of units in that formation be used?
A: No. Special abilities of offboard units may not be used.
A specific exception is made for abilities used to affect the activation of the
formation they are in. For example, an Eldar formation with a Farseer is held
offboard in reserve and the Eldar player retains the initiative to activate this
formation. Even though the formation is offboard the Eldar player can use
the Farsight ability of the Farseer in that formation to negate the penalty for
retaining the initiative. Similarly, a Space Marine Supreme Commander may
use the Supreme Commander ability to re-roll the command check to
activate the formation they are in if it was offboard but could not be used to
apply that same re-roll to a formation that was onboard or to another
offboard formation.