Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question

 Post subject: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 3238
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Can someone settle an argument please?

When the Gargant uses the Supa-Lifta Droppa on a Superheavy tank and the save is failed, should the Superheavy be destroyed outright, or should there be a roll on the Superheavy damage table?

_________________
Clickable links for more Epic goodness:

Life of Die Channel including Epic Podcasts and Battle Reports

Epic 40K Players Page on Facebook
Net Epic Evolution Rules
Net Epic War! Campaign Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:50 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 3238
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Also, still on the subject of Gargant weapons, it says that the Ball round for the Gutbusters "always scatters". Presumably though if you roll "hit" on the scatter dice it does not scatter? The alternative would be to keep rolling the scatter dice until you roll an arrow (which seems daft, I know, but I would like to double check!).

_________________
Clickable links for more Epic goodness:

Life of Die Channel including Epic Podcasts and Battle Reports

Epic 40K Players Page on Facebook
Net Epic Evolution Rules
Net Epic War! Campaign Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:13 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:41 am
Posts: 520
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
The Bissler wrote:
Also, still on the subject of Gargant weapons, it says that the Ball round for the Gutbusters "always scatters". Presumably though if you roll "hit" on the scatter dice it does not scatter? The alternative would be to keep rolling the scatter dice until you roll an arrow (which seems daft, I know, but I would like to double check!).

I can't speak to the actual rule, but the GW scatter die has small arrows on the hit faces to cover just such eventualities.

_________________
Thanks,
Troy


Once Upon a Midnight Dreary....


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27069
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Hi!

Always scatters as in always roll the scatter die. If you get a "hit" it does not deviate.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:38 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27069
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
The Bissler wrote:
Can someone settle an argument please?

When the Gargant uses the Supa-Lifta Droppa on a Superheavy tank and the save is failed, should the Superheavy be destroyed outright, or should there be a roll on the Superheavy damage table?


Hi!

The super heavy rolls on the damage table.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 4:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 3238
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Cheers chaps!

primarch wrote:
The Bissler wrote:
Can someone settle an argument please?

When the Gargant uses the Supa-Lifta Droppa on a Superheavy tank and the save is failed, should the Superheavy be destroyed outright, or should there be a roll on the Superheavy damage table?


Hi!

The super heavy rolls on the damage table.

Primarch


Oh man! I thought it was auto destruction, and therefore I cheated. Didn't help me much, I still took a beating. I really am terrible at Epic now. :'(

_________________
Clickable links for more Epic goodness:

Life of Die Channel including Epic Podcasts and Battle Reports

Epic 40K Players Page on Facebook
Net Epic Evolution Rules
Net Epic War! Campaign Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27069
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
The Bissler wrote:
Cheers chaps!

primarch wrote:
The Bissler wrote:
Can someone settle an argument please?

When the Gargant uses the Supa-Lifta Droppa on a Superheavy tank and the save is failed, should the Superheavy be destroyed outright, or should there be a roll on the Superheavy damage table?


Hi!

The super heavy rolls on the damage table.

Primarch


Oh man! I thought it was auto destruction, and therefore I cheated. Didn't help me much, I still took a beating. I really am terrible at Epic now. :'(


Hi!

I'll re-read the supa lifta droppa rules, but the intent of the damage table was to give them survivability. Of course there are weapons that destroy them outright, like vortex weapons. So unless the weapon description says it destroy with no save, it should allow one.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Gargant Supa Lifta Droppa Question
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 3238
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
SLD rules:

"Supa Lifta-Droppa: Great, Mekboy and Mega-Gargants may be fitted with this shoulder-mounted weapon. Place a barrage template within 75 cm and line of sight, and any models under the template are hit on a 4+ with a -4 TSM. Mod- els that fail their save are lifted and may be “dropped” on another model within 6 cm. Place each dropped model in the desired location and scatter it 2D6 cm. The falling victim is always destroyed, and anything it lands on is destroyed unless it’s saving throw is better than that of the model that fell on it."

It's the section I marked in bold I think is critical. The way I read this, your superheavy wouldn't get to roll on the damage table. The SLD is an exception to the rule, I would always normally roll on the superheavy damage table.

_________________
Clickable links for more Epic goodness:

Life of Die Channel including Epic Podcasts and Battle Reports

Epic 40K Players Page on Facebook
Net Epic Evolution Rules
Net Epic War! Campaign Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net