Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Rules Questions

 Post subject: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:39 am
Posts: 1097
Location: Alleroed, Denmark
Hi,

I have a few rules questions from recent games I promised to bring to the consideration of the collective wisdom assembled here :) Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and views.

1) Countercharge and drawn in:

"Any enemy formations that are contacted by counter charging units are drawn into the assault, and will fight just as if they had made the assault themselves."
(p21)

Does this mean that the countercharging unit must reach base contact, or is it enough to enter within FF range (15cm) of the formation to be drawn in?

2) AVs and Cover To-Hit modifier

(1.8.2 and 1.8.3)

It is clear enough that infantry in area terrain that gives cover saves (rubble, woods etc) gets a -1 to hit modifier as well, even if the unit is not partially obscured. Does this apply to vehicles too? Ie, is it enough to just be in area terrain to claim a -1 to hit modifier? Additionally, if an AV gets a cover to-hit modifier from being in terrain, does it get it when targeted by an indirect fire weapon as well?

3) Hit Allocation in Engagements

When allocating hits in engagements, how do you determine "closest unit" when there are multiple attacking formations? Per attacking unit, or per attacking formation, or for the "combined" formation? The first seems too fiddly, the latter can lead to strange situations where hits must be allocated to units very far from the unit that actually inflicted them.

Additionally, when allocating hits caused by supporting fire from multiple formations, is this done per supporting formation, or per the complete set of support firing formations? If the former, is it then done simultaneously for all supporting fire, or in "rounds" for each supporting formation?


4) Formations of Multiple War Engines in Engagements

"You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact." (p43)

If a formation of multiple War Engines (eg, a Baneblade Coy) is engaged in CC (eg, by Genestealers), can a WE with enemy units in base contact choose to use its FF attack against the enemy units in base contact with the other WEs in the formation? This rather negates the benefit CC-favoring units would normally get from reaching base contact...


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:04 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
SpeakerToMachines wrote:
1) Countercharge and drawn in:

"Any enemy formations that are contacted by counter charging units are drawn into the assault, and will fight just as if they had made the assault themselves."
(p21)

Does this mean that the countercharging unit must reach base contact, or is it enough to enter within FF range (15cm) of the formation to be drawn in?

2) AVs and Cover To-Hit modifier

To be drawn into an engagement the unit has to be "contacted'" in base to base, getting into FF range is not enough otherwise all supporting formations would be automatically dragged in as they are within 15cm already.
Quote:
(1.8.2 and 1.8.3)

It is clear enough that infantry in area terrain that gives cover saves (rubble, woods etc) gets a -1 to hit modifier as well, even if the unit is not partially obscured. Does this apply to vehicles too? Ie, is it enough to just be in area terrain to claim a -1 to hit modifier? Additionally, if an AV gets a cover to-hit modifier from being in terrain, does it get it when targeted by an indirect fire weapon as well?

With the abstraction of EpicA you are either in terrain or not, there are no partially in or out situations, so yes the AV's in cover get the -1 to hit (even if an AV has only a track in terrain and there is no terrain between it and the firing formation it gets the -1).
Also they get the -1 from attacks by indirect fire weapons unless the Indirect fire weapon has Ignore Cover in it's notes (as in Bombards).

Quote:
3) Hit Allocation in Engagements

When allocating hits in engagements, how do you determine "closest unit" when there are multiple attacking formations? Per attacking unit, or per attacking formation, or for the "combined" formation? The first seems too fiddly, the latter can lead to strange situations where hits must be allocated to units very far from the unit that actually inflicted them.

Additionally, when allocating hits caused by supporting fire from multiple formations, is this done per supporting formation, or per the complete set of support firing formations? If the former, is it then done simultaneously for all supporting fire, or in "rounds" for each supporting formation.

In an engagement all formations that performed the assault (or are dragged in) are classed as 1 formation for the duration of the engagement, same with defending formations all are classed as 1 formation.
So work out who is nearest from any of the attacking/defending units by who is actually nearest to attackers/defenders.

All supporting fire is done simultaneously not in rounds, also remember supporting fire attacks can only hit units that are "directly engaged" in the assault ("directly engaged" = within 15cm of enemy units that are in the assault, easiest way to remember what is directly involved is did they roll any attack dice, if they didn't then they cannot be hit by support fire).

Quote:
4) Formations of Multiple War Engines in Engagements

"You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact." (p43)

If a formation of multiple War Engines (eg, a Baneblade Coy) is engaged in CC (eg, by Genestealers), can a WE with enemy units in base contact choose to use its FF attack against the enemy units in base contact with the other WEs in the formation? This rather negates the benefit CC-favoring units would normally get from reaching base contact...


Yes a WE can FF onto units in Base to Base with another WE.
It can lead to situations where it negates the CC specialists advantage but it can also lead to some WE's not getting to use either attacks (WE block Line of Sight).
So in the situation you described (genestealers, who have infitrate) the attacking genestealers could position themselves in Base to Base and use the WE to block the FF attacks from being used by one or possibly both of the other Baneblades (counter charge HAS to be towards the nearest enemy unit, it cannot be used to move sideways etc. just to get better line of sight).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 11:32 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Hungary
War Engine Transport:
This combined formation receives Blast Markers. What happens when the number of BMs reach the WEs starting DC?
a., Does it get only suppressed?
b., Does it break, and you may decide the transported formation to either rally move (and break aswell) or disembark unharmed?
c., Or any other combination?


Imperial Titan Critical:
a., At the rally phase, roll only once for reactor, if any critical occured.
b., At the rally phase, roll as many times for the reactor as critical occured. (We played this)


Take and Hold Objective:
Does it limited 30 cm from neutral table edges, or only the enemy table edge?
I say it's only from the enemy table edge (larger strategy space), but my opponent said it's from all table edges. I don't mind neither, just aims to play the same game. :)

_________________
Epic Commander of the Prassium Invasion Troops 214th Regiment
***Action is our prayer. Victory is our offering.***


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Commissar Holt wrote:
War Engine Transport:
This combined formation receives Blast Markers. What happens when the number of BMs reach the WEs starting DC?
a., Does it get only suppressed?
b., Does it break, and you may decide the transported formation to either rally move (and break aswell) or disembark unharmed?
c., Or any other combination?

c) Other. This changes significantly depending on the circumstances and type of transport.
WE transport in isolation on the ground follows the usual rules, so would break when the BMs match the DC.
If the transport has troops inside it, then it would break when the BMs matches the total of units and DC.
If this is a SM THawk or Landing Craft, because of TSKNF, it would break when the BMs are double the DC.
In the air, an Air Transport follows the 'Air rules' (4.0) and does not break at all - but must beat the initiative and BM total to activate.


Commissar Holt wrote:
Imperial Titan Critical:
a., At the rally phase, roll only once for reactor, if any critical occured.
b., At the rally phase, roll as many times for the reactor as critical occured. (We played this)

b) is correct. In the rally phase roll once for each critical, and roll again for any criticals that are generated. In this way is it potentially possible for a single critical to cause a chain reaction of further criticals and wipe out the Titan in one turn.

Commissar Holt wrote:
Take and Hold Objective:
Does it limited 30 cm from neutral table edges, or only the enemy table edge?
I say it's only from the enemy table edge (larger strategy space), but my opponent said it's from all table edges. I don't mind neither, just aims to play the same game. :)

If I have understood you correctly, only the 'enemy' table edges - Objectives may not be placed within 30cm of either deployment table edge or each other. You *can* put then on 'neutral' table edges (the 'short' sides of a 6x4 table when playing from the 'long' sides).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Commissar Holt wrote:
War Engine Transport:

Take and Hold Objective:
Does it limited 30 cm from neutral table edges, or only the enemy table edge?
I say it's only from the enemy table edge (larger strategy space), but my opponent said it's from all table edges. I don't mind neither, just aims to play the same game. :)


It's 30cm from opponents table edge, not from a neutral table edge.
Highlighted relevant part.

Quote:
The first objective a player sets up must be placed on their own
table edge. The remaining two objectives must be set up in their
opponent’s half of the table, at least 30cm away from the
opponent’s table edge
and 30cm away from any other objectives
that have already been placed.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Hungary
How many objectives a formation may occupy?

Are there any restrictions apart from:
-one unit must be in 15 cm.
-the formation is non-broken, and not rallied in the actual victory check turn (3+)
-not contested by enemy units with the same two criteria above.
-being an aircraft unit which landed in the actual victory check turn (3+)
?

Since there is the option to set up objective 30 cm away from each other, there is a quite good opportunity to capture 2+ objective with one formation.

Sidenote: This question is forwarded from my local epic community. I personally voted on no cap limit.

_________________
Epic Commander of the Prassium Invasion Troops 214th Regiment
***Action is our prayer. Victory is our offering.***


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote:
How many objectives a formation may occupy?

All of them, if the formation is big enough. :-)

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
2+ objectives can be captured by one formation.

A commonly used tactic with Greater Gargants or Warlords is to place your two objectives 30cm from each other then move your titan to capture/contest both.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 7:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Hungary
I don't like posting up new topics (maybe I should?)

I do like that I can rely on you for all the help, with the rules. Thanks for all of it. It is quite handy. [To be honest, you are my ACE card under my Commissariat Flak Coat sleeve, to play out when a solid argument is required usually at TURN 3 or more ::) ]

AIRCRAFT MOVEMENT

Can AC units start their movement with turning? Or they always have to make the 30 cm first, even if they moved at least 30 cm straight forward without turning, in engagement move, and let's say the player wishes them to make a turn in the disengagement move?

_________________
Epic Commander of the Prassium Invasion Troops 214th Regiment
***Action is our prayer. Victory is our offering.***


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Commissar Holt wrote:

AIRCRAFT MOVEMENT

Can AC units start their movement with turning? Or they always have to make the 30 cm first, even if they moved at least 30 cm straight forward without turning, in engagement move, and let's say the player wishes them to make a turn in the disengagement move?


from the official FAQ.
Quote:

Q: If an aircraft has travelled more
than 30cm during its approach move
but not made a turn can it then turn
immediately when it does its
disengagement move?
A: No. The aircraft's movement does not
carry over after the approach move. In this
case the aircraft would have to move the
minimum 30cm during its disengagement
move before it could turn again.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 10:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
So, you declare the aircraft activation and place it on the edge of your deployment area where it will enter. But the angle it enters is not specified - so effectively it can enter at an angle of 1 degree to the edge. That said, it must travel at least 30cm before turning. The aircraft then flies over the battlefield to the point where the air activities are resolved - and provided it has flown more than 30cm to that point since the previous turn, it may make a final turn.

When disengaging at the end of the turn, the aircraft must fly 30cm straight forwards on it's current heading before it may turn, and flies towards a table edge.

Hope that helps


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Hungary
This one is pretty obvious within the recent (2013) wording of the tournament pack, yet my opponent tenaciously questioned it and I gave him the opportunity to play as he wished. (actually I won the battle later, as it was prolonged until 4th turn tie break as was harder for me to achieve objective win.)

GARRISON

How many formations may be set-up as garrison?

_________________
Epic Commander of the Prassium Invasion Troops 214th Regiment
***Action is our prayer. Victory is our offering.***


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules Questions
PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 10:14 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
As many as you like, only two of them can start on overwatch though.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net