Taker of Skulls wrote:
Another question!!
if you buy a formation of terminators and then a seperate formation of land raiders, can the terminators ride inside them?
if yes... can the land raider fprmation pick up the terminators, make a march move, drop them off after the third move.... can the terminators then an engagement action in their own activation?
thanks
Alex
RAW - No. Only WE transport can carry troops from a different formation. As Land Raiders are not WE, they can only transport troops from their own formation (where the LRs are paid for as an upgrade).
And to your second question regarding embarking / disembarking; follow the rules in 3.13 of WE transport.
This says that the WE may take an action before troops mount up, but may not activate afterwards. This is to avoid the precise example that you present which would allow the terminators or the WE to move further than they should.
Also note the difference between in formation transport (1.7.5) and WE transport (3.1.3). In-formation transport moves over the troops to pick them up and they can disembark after a second move - but the entire formation has activated. Whereas the WE activates, then separately the infantry activates to move into the WE - ending up with both formations activated.
If you want to house rule that the Land Raiders can pick up the terminators I suggest you follow the above lead and disallow either formation from activating once they have combined.