Mephiston hit this right on the head in his first post. It's gotten way too complicated since then.
MrShinySpear wrote:
Can a unit end its consolidation move within ZOC of an enemy unit that was not the target of an assault?
No. Consolidation moves follow the same standards as normal moves. You cannot end a consolidation move within the ZoC of any enemy unit. Whether they are broken or participated in the assault is irrelevant.
Quote:
And how do you play it if it's impossible for them to land outside of it?
They must attempt to leave the ZoC to the best of their ability.
Note, however, in practice this is virtually never going to happen. If the scouts are not intermingled (see below) the scouts must be at least 5cm from the target unit. If they are at least 5cm away, the attackers could be no more than 5cm into the Scout ZoC. Therefore a 5cm consolidation move would allow them to move out of the ZoC range. It would take some sort of combination of ties and countercharges to draw the attackers further into the Scout ZoC before it would be impossible to withdraw.
As far as the situation described I think the determining fact is this:
Quote:
The SH was in Base contact with one of the Vauls.
The Scout "screen from behind" FAQ is for a theoretical situation where the scout formation
cannot be intermingled, but can still project it's ZoC forward of the unit, creating a theoretical impenetrable zone by the overlap of 2 prohibitions in the rules - a non-participant ZoC cannot be violated, and you cannot pull them into the assault.
In this case, the scouts
can be intermingled, so one of the prohibitions does not apply. You must intermingle the formations to reach CC.
That's not to say the attacker must intermingle the targets. It's still up to the attacker to decide. However, if you choose not to intermingle them then you must abide by the consequences of that choice, i.e. voluntarily give up the chance to CC because you must avoid the ZoC of the non-involved formation.
Incidentally, this applies to any formation, even if not Scouts. If you had 2 IG infantry companies laced together, you could not declare an assault on one of them and CC into the other's ZoC. You'd have to declare them intermingled or abide by the non-engaged formation's ZoC.
Basically, if you want to pick off one formation of an intermingled set, you are limited to FF.
====
Edit: Ack! I just realized the edited Scout FAQ in the 2008 FAQ omitted the reference to intermingling when describing the "screen from behind" situation.