Kyrt wrote:
The yes and no consensus seems sensible, but I'm not sure it's for the reason you state here. The question of whether they get to use their attacks only exists precisely because all attacks are not completed before moving onto saves - if they were, then macro weapons would not be able to be allocated onto anything inside transports (hence my question).
Yes, all attack rolls are made before making any saving rolls,The assault rules state.
Quote:
Each player allocates the hits and make saving throws in the same manner as they would when allocating hits from shooting.
So following that procedure means,
Quote:
1.9.3 Shooting Procedure
This is a summary of the shooting procedure. We’ll work through it step–by–step in the rules that follow.
I – Place one Blast marker on the target formation.
II – Roll to hit.
III – Allocate hits, make saving throws and remove casualties.
IV – Place additional Blast markers for casualties and check to see if the enemy formation is broken.
All attack rolls are made first then allocated as explained in 1.9.6
Quote:
If an attacking formation scores hits both with normal weapons and weapons with the macroweapon ability, then the opposing player must allocate and make any saves for the normal hits first, and then allocate and make any saves for the macro- weapon hits. Hits from macro-weapons can only be applied to units that are in a position to be hit by a macro-weapon
(Note: With the exception of War Engines (see 3.3.2), during
an assault, all units up to 15cm away are valid targets for
allocation, regardless of whether the hits are from CC or FF.).