Quote: (BlackLegion @ Jan. 21 2010, 20:02 )
4) A reserve formation which fails to activate takes a BM as normal for a failed activation.  It has the normal Hold options - move, shoot or regroup.  If moving onto the board is restricted (e.g. ZoC blocking the gate) that option is not available.  Shooting is not available off-board.  Regrouping could be used to remove the BM.
Well, that isn't quite what Neal stated but its close.
Quote:
I would also rule that even an attempt to use a gate/portal will "use up" the gate/portal for this turn.
This is contradictory to how Eldar are played. And if I can draw a strange comparison, it is also contradictory to how Commanders work (if a commander fails to activate, the formations he was intending to command are not 'used up').
Quote:
Turn 2 it takes a Marshal action and thus uses an un-blocked portal to move on the board and regroups (regeneration lost units). Here it doesn't matter if the action passes or fails. If at least one portal ins't blocked the formation has to move on the board. If all where blocked it would have to attempt an Engage action.
Actually it matters a lot if the action passes or fails. If the marshall passes you could move
and regroup. If it fails you can move
or regroup, but not both.
Since you've nominated this formation in the example to marshall, it would be obligated to move. However if all the portals were blocked you could not take the marshall action; you could only engage or hold/regroup off board.
Quote:
Turn 3 or 4 it takes a Marshal action and thus uses an un-blocked portal to move on the board and regroups (regeneration lost units). Here it doesn't matter if the action passes or fails. If at least one portal ins't blocked the formation has to move on the board. If all where blocked it would have to attempt an Engage action.
Nope. Once again it does matter if you pass or fail the marshall action roll. If you pass you can move
and regroup. If you fail you hold, which means moving
or regrouping.
And it doesn't matter if you have 14 portals open on the board. You don't have to enter the board unless you want to. It's a really simple IF-THEN function...
IF you choose to activate a formation off-board, THEN you must try to move it onto the board.
-> IF your activation roll succeeds, THEN the move you make must take you onto the board.
-> IF your activation roll fails, THEN you may regroup off board or you may move onto the board.
IF you do not choose to activate a formation off board, THEN you do nothing.
---
And I'll summarize everyone's argument so we don't have to read it all again.
Moscovian agrees with Neal.
MNB agrees with Neal.
Corey thinks this is abusive because of the regrouping off board.
Ginger thinks you should be able to use marshall actions off board and not come on the board (called 'burning' an activation).
Chroma agrees with Ginger on the burning of activations but also agrees with Neal on the regrouping off board.
Hena agrees with Corey that the regrouping is abusive but disagrees with Ginger that burning activations should be allowed.
Corey worships Jervis.
Chroma wipes his feet on Jervis' shirt.
Moscovian has transcended Jervisdom and has developed a god-complex.
Zombocom is annoyed and waiting for the NetERC to make a decision.
Stompzilla is annoyed that he posted twelve times and nobody is listening to him.
Do I have this right?
