Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

Rule question about overwatch

 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:40 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Formation A (Broadside battlesuits) is on Overwatch.
Formation B (Sentinels) moves up to Formation A.
Formation A is inside Formation B's ZoC.

May Formation A use its Overwatch ability to fire, considering that it is inside Formation B's ZoC?

Or must it elect not to fire using its Overwatch ability until the ZoC conflict has been resolved (Either through the destruction of the Sentinels or the Broadsides taking an Advance order and moving away).



====

This actually happened in a game (Actually the Sentinels deployed opposite the Broadsides on the centreline on Garrison), and the Broadsides moved away instead of Overwatching on anything so we didn't actually resolve the question.




_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 6:17 pm
Posts: 726
Location: London
didn't this also involve garrioning both and not the sentinels moving?

but the question still stands

_________________
"Dyslexia is a Privilege, not a right"


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:48 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote: (Pulsar @ 29 Jul. 2009, 00:46 )

didn't this also involve garrioning both and not the sentinels moving?

but the question still stands

Edited my post above to clarify.

From a game mechanics perspective either situation is the same: Are the Broadsides allowed to use their Overwatch ability whilst inside a ZoC?


Overwatching on a charging enemy in an Engagement situation is often used, but seems to fall under a similar situation actually.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:50 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
I asked this a while ago and the answer was that they could still fire the overwatch shots.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:54 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Fair enough, thanks. :)

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
I really do not understand this.

What would actually stop the overwatch from interrupting the opponents turn after they finished moving?

What am I missing here?

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:24 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
The issue is that the formation on overwatch is now in the scouts zone of control. So if a normal formation were to activate it would have to move out of the ZoC so couldn't sustain fire for example.

I think the answer was that as the overwatch formation 'activated' before being in the ZoC it doesn't need to move out and can still fire.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:26 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
What am I missing here?


Normally you cannot conduct an action when you are inside of an enemy's Zone of Control unless it allows you to: Engage, or leave the enemy's Zone of Control via some sort of movement action.

That can be used to place scouts up near an artillery formation forcing it to move away (or engage the scouts) instead of Sustaining Fire at the enemy.

Overwatch is seemingly an exception to this rule, presumably due to when the dice roll to begin the activation is actually taken.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:36 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Quote: (Evil and Chaos @ 29 Jul. 2009, 09:26 )

Overwatch is seemingly an exception to this rule, presumably due to when the dice roll to begin the activation is actually taken.

So enemy being charged would not normally get to use their overwatch in that case if it were the other way around...?

Seems quite a useless action if that was not the case.

I thought it was clearer in this respect:

Overwatch - The formation may not move, but instead
enters overwatch. Being on overwatch allows the
formation to interrupt an enemy formation’s action to
shoot at it.


Zone of Control - If a unit finds itself in an enemy zone of control for any
reason, then it must either charge the enemy or leave
the zone of control when it next takes an action

So by the above, the action was already taken before the ZoC was initiated. There is no 'next' action to fire on overwatch.

I never thought it got any more complex than that.  :p

I understand it is resolved, just clarrifying the rule for my own sake as well, that all.

Cheers...




_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:58 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
As noted, firing on OW is not the same as taking an action.  ZoC does not prevent OW.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rule question about overwatch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 1216
Location: Norfolk VA USA
Agreed. Where it would get sticky is if the formation on overwatch has carried over overwatch since last turn (and therefore firing on overwatch would allow them to avoid activating in response to being in a ZOC), but I'd still say this is okay.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net