Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Questions

 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 2785
Location: Nr Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Cheers, mate. A posted Battle Report of your next up and coming battle will help to heal my frazled brain.  :agree:

_________________
My head is full of War...

[img]http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk120/Warhead40k/Tyranid%20Swarm/DSC02262.jpg[/img]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
It is clear the Warlord is part of the same detachment...we agree on that.  Given that fact, where is the confusion....1 detachment = 1 activation.  The fact that one stand in the unit has a different ability (Command) doesn't change the fact that it is one detachment.

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:38 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 2785
Location: Nr Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
*Groan*
Yes, again I am repeating the Warlord is part of detachment.

No, no confusion. I challenge the assumption that the COMMAND unit does not get a separate activation due to him having separate orders as per the rules while all I have against this is "it's what we do." Your right. I'm not confused at all.
I suppose you would work the IG Colonel the same way. Hey kids. Don't buy a Command unit with a body guard they are all part of the same detachment so your Command unit must only get normal troop orders.
I've never read this in the rules. What seems clear to you seems a mistake to me. Where does it say that any HQ attached to a detachment must give up it's activation and follow the same orders as the detachment?

I would challenge the v5 change between Command and HQ that I didn't think needed changed and has caused unnecessary extra work when playing but I'll let sleeping dogs lie for now.

So Command units get their own activation ALWAYS as per the CORE Rules. No matter the circumstance. Core Rule trumps other rules in my book.

_________________
My head is full of War...

[img]http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk120/Warhead40k/Tyranid%20Swarm/DSC02262.jpg[/img]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:49 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:10 pm
Posts: 95
Location: London, UK
Gentlemen,

Thanks for the speedy response and hope that there hasn't been any heat generated by the initial questions. If nothing else I am relieved that others have perhaps found things as complicated as I've found them, and these weren't just dumb questions.

Any one fancy a game in South London then?

rgds

michael


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 5:52 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 2785
Location: Nr Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Nah, I would be dismayed if my moaning had caused anything more than a slight headache and perhaps a skin rash of exasperation. Who said everyone has to agree anyway.

South London?.. I'd only travel that far if you were willing to travel here in turn for the re-match.  :))

So, will you be posting any of your future Battles? We all like the pretty pictures round here.

_________________
My head is full of War...

[img]http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk120/Warhead40k/Tyranid%20Swarm/DSC02262.jpg[/img]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Quote: (Warhead @ 17 Dec. 2008, 11:38 )

*Groan*
Yes, again I am repeating the Warlord is part of detachment.

No, no confusion. I challenge the assumption that the COMMAND unit does not get a separate activation due to him having separate orders as per the rules while all I have against this is "it's what we do." Your right. I'm not confused at all.
I suppose you would work the IG Colonel the same way. Hey kids. Don't buy a Command unit with a body guard they are all part of the same detachment so your Command unit must only get normal troop orders.
I've never read this in the rules. What seems clear to you seems a mistake to me. Where does it say that any HQ attached to a detachment must give up it's activation and follow the same orders as the detachment?

I would challenge the v5 change between Command and HQ that I didn't think needed changed and has caused unnecessary extra work when playing but I'll let sleeping dogs lie for now.

So Command units get their own activation ALWAYS as per the CORE Rules. No matter the circumstance. Core Rule trumps other rules in my book.

No heat, just trying to clarify things....it's fun.  

Sorry to kick the sleeping dog.  There is no "assumption" that Command does not equal extra activation.  Nowhere in the the description of Command does it mention activations.    You have made an assumption that because the stand with Command does not need orders and can always move double and fire this somehow means they can ignore the fact that they are part of a detachment.  If that's the way you play and everyone is happy cool, but the written rules do not support that interpretation.  A logical extrapolation of that would be that the Badmoons Nobz Mob would get 4 activations.  I'm sure Ork players everywhere would love that....but I'm certain that no-one thinks this (do they?)  :smile:

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 2785
Location: Nr Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Ok, then accept that we have both made assumptions. One about Activations and one about Detachments both points have merit and hopefully you see mine clearer now as I can now understand yours. I think the Nobs thing is a stretch and not really what I meant but point made.
Yes if it is played locally and all is going well then there is no problem. We prefer all HQ/Command units to receive Charge/First Fire orders (formation/detachment rules not-withstanding) and it has been fine.

A logical extrapolation of that would be that the Badmoons Nobz Mob would get 4 activations.  I'm sure Ork players everywhere would love that....but I'm certain that no-one thinks this (do they?)

Well, if they weren't they are now! Geesh! Way to go... :tongue:
Hey, about the Orks and their Mobz. It doesn't work very well...  :whistle:  :shutup:

_________________
My head is full of War...

[img]http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk120/Warhead40k/Tyranid%20Swarm/DSC02262.jpg[/img]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 12:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:10 pm
Posts: 95
Location: London, UK
Having checked your profile I see you're in Glasgow, and I am (infrequently)in Scotland so perhaps not entirely impossible.

Thanks for the advice on the rules. My regular opponent insists he was right on the HQ targetting thing, Nobz protect other NObz so even if out alone I'd need 5 detachments to try and kill them all with gunfire (if in line ahead to my detachments).

It's not even about the rule but the general attitude so with regret have called it a day.

But may have some games with another regular who just bought some Orks on ebay, so if possible will get pictures up/reports as possible.

rgds

Michael


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Tell him he's a nob, everyone here agrees he's a nob, and if he doesn't stop being a nob he doesn't get to play anymore.

Probably wont help, but should be entertaining  :vD

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 2785
Location: Nr Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Having checked your profile I see you're in Glasgow, and I am (infrequently)in Scotland so perhaps not entirely impossible.

Near to Glasgow but all things are possible. Always great to get in a game against new talent.

It's not even about the rule but the general attitude so with regret have called it a day.
Yes, it is always the failed attitude test that always lets any game down. Rule of thumb. If the rules can't be agreed upon after both players have had their say then roll a D6. 1-3 he's right, 4-6 your right. It gets the game back on track. You could even agree to do this each battle and describe it as changing favourable/unfavourable conditions. Then discuss it after the game.

There is always the "swift kick in the nads rule." Quickest wins! But it tends to end games/friendships very swiftly.  :tongue:

Tell him he's a nob, everyone here agrees he's a nob, and if he doesn't stop being a nob he doesn't get to play anymore.
Yup, sounds like a nob. He is aware it's just a game, yes?  :rock: I guess you had been beating him, eh?

_________________
My head is full of War...

[img]http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk120/Warhead40k/Tyranid%20Swarm/DSC02262.jpg[/img]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 10:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2008 10:10 pm
Posts: 95
Location: London, UK
Actually I think he was winning, though technically we were ahead on points at the close. We being a new Epic player (but ex grognard) and me.

Rest of it is a long story (we have been gaming on and off for about 10 years) and probably best left at saying we grate on each other's nerves, not as people, just as gamers. Not to worry.

Next time I'm in Scotland I'll try and get in touch to see if something is possible. if you're in London likewise let me know and we'll see if I can arrange some hospitality.

rgds

michael


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 11:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:51 am
Posts: 2785
Location: Nr Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Next time I'm in Scotland I'll try and get in touch to see if something is possible. if you're in London likewise let me know and we'll see if I can arrange some hospitality.

Sounds great. I will do, thanks.  :agree:

_________________
My head is full of War...

[img]http://i278.photobucket.com/albums/kk120/Warhead40k/Tyranid%20Swarm/DSC02262.jpg[/img]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net