Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Couple of Quick Questions

 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
#1 A formation of Tactical Marines is firing at a formation with Infantry and Armored Vehicles. Can half the formation use AP shots and the other half use their AT shots (ie 3 AP shots and 3 AT shots)?

#2 If an objective must be held for an entire turn to claim victory what if it were contested part way through? For example, end of turn 3 the objective is contested. End of turn four the objective is no longer contested (the enemy formation contesting has broken and withdrawn).

Can the formation holding the objective claim that it has been held for one full turn, even though part of that turn it was contested? Or does the friendly formation need to hold onto the objective until the end of turn 5 (without it becoming contested during the course of that turn) to claim it.

Thanks

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Malakai @ 17 Dec. 2008, 23:35 )

#1 A formation of Tactical Marines is firing at a formation with Infantry and Armored Vehicles. Can half the formation use AP shots and the other half use their AT shots (ie 3 AP shots and 3 AT shots)?

You decide whether to fire AP or AT on a weapon-by-weapon basis, so each unit of Tactical Marines decides which type of shot to take.  A unit if Devastators could fire one of each type, if desired, since they have two Missile Launchers.

#2 If an objective must be held for an entire turn to claim victory what if it were contested part way through? For example, end of turn 3 the objective is contested. End of turn four the objective is no longer contested (the enemy formation contesting has broken and withdrawn).

Can the formation holding the objective claim that it has been held for one full turn, even though part of that turn it was contested? Or does the friendly formation need to hold onto the objective until the end of turn 5 (without it becoming contested during the course of that turn) to claim it


This one is tougher to answer... in the Tournament Scenario, "holding" objectives is only checked at the end of a turn, so anything that happens *during* the turn is irrelevant.

If a different scenario requires different "victory conditions" then "during the turn" events might have an effect.

Do you have a specific scenario in mind?




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
Quote: (Chroma @ 17 Dec. 2008, 17:56 )

This one is tougher to answer... in the Tournament Scenario, "holding" objectives is only checked at the end of a turn, so anything that happens *during* the turn is irrelevant.

If a different scenario requires different "victory conditions" then "during the turn" events might have an effect.

Do you have a specific scenario in mind?

My wife and I are replaying the training scenarios again. It just says that an objective must be held for one full turn in order to claim victory.

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Malakai @ 18 Dec. 2008, 00:05 )

My wife and I are replaying the training scenarios again. It just says that an objective must be held for one full turn in order to claim victory.

Ah!

Victory Conditions: You capture the objective if you
have a unit within 15cms of it in the end phase and your
opponent does not. To win the game, you must capture
the objective and hold it for one full game turn.


You only check for "capture" at the end of turns, so the "Victory Condition" would mean a formation capturing it at the end of Turn X and still being with 15cm of it at the end of Turn X+1... you don't need to "recapture" it, so nearby enemies don't actually affect you.  If your formation was "pushed off" of it, then you'd need to recapture it again.

Since the training scenarios are more basic than a full scenario, there doesn't appear to be any "contesting" of objectives, at least not in the ones I looked at.




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:30 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
Thanks, one last question. Unless hit by a macro or TK weapon infantry mounted in transports that are destroyed are allowed a saving throw (if they have a save) right?

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Malakai @ 18 Dec. 2008, 01:30 )

Thanks, one last question. Unless hit by a macro or TK weapon infantry mounted in transports that are destroyed are allowed a saving throw (if they have a save) right?

Any units transported suffer the same effects as the type of hit that has destroyed their transports... so, if it allows a save, then they can try to make a save, if it doesn't allow a save... they die.

Additionally, if they *don't* have a save, such as Imperial Guard Infantry, they can attempt a 6+ save to survive... this was added in the 2008 Errata.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:40 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
Thanks for the quick replies Chroma. These training scenarios are really helpful. Though I don't remember having as many questions when I played them before. Maybe I need a few pints to help me remember better... :p

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
I have another question. If infantry are aboard transports at the beginning of the turn can they disembark and perform a Sustained Fire action?

I'm inclined to say no, but I just want to be sure.

Thanks!  :smile:

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:44 am
Posts: 553
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
No as you only disembark at the end of a move.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 12:36 pm
Posts: 653
No, embarking or disembarking is only allowed as part of an action with a move (Engage,Advance, Double, March, Marshall if you elect to move or during withdrawal moves)

SPECIAL RULE
1.7.5 Transport Vehicle
...
The vehicle simply moves into base contact with the
unit to be picked up, and then carries on with its move as normal. Note that the transported unit is not
allowed to move themselves during the move when they are picked up.
Transported units may disembark at the end of any move after the move in which is it was picked up.
...

_________________
Visit www.epic-battles.de the ultimate german epic site&forum!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 12:36 pm
Posts: 653
Quote: (vytzka @ 18 Dec. 2008, 20:59 )

No as you only disembark at the end of a move.

While this is the correct answer, it is always better to provide a proper reference from either the rulebook, the Errata and FAQ or at least some discussion on this board.
:;):

_________________
Visit www.epic-battles.de the ultimate german epic site&forum!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:44 am
Posts: 553
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Thanks, I'll have that in mind :D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:59 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
Yes, yet another "quick question". This is becoming embarrassing. :sulk:  

Do you guys classify ruined buildings as ruins or buildings? I ask because I can see vehicles driving through some of the more broken sections, but the wall sections look to be impassible to anything but infantry.

thanks once again  :blush:

_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:07 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Malakai @ 19 Dec. 2008, 00:59 )

Do you guys classify ruined buildings as ruins or buildings? I ask because I can see vehicles driving through some of the more broken sections, but the wall sections look to be impassible to anything but infantry.

They can be *both*, you just make it clear with your opponent beforehand!

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Couple of Quick Questions
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 8:18 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:21 am
Posts: 810
Location: United States
Quote: (Chroma @ 18 Dec. 2008, 23:07 )

Quote: (Malakai @ 19 Dec. 2008, 00:59 )

Do you guys classify ruined buildings as ruins or buildings? I ask because I can see vehicles driving through some of the more broken sections, but the wall sections look to be impassible to anything but infantry.

They can be *both*, you just make it clear with your opponent beforehand!

But can they be both and be part of the same structure? For example two walls are intact, but the third is broken and the fourth is practically nonexistent. How do you deal with those types?




_________________
-Malakai

"You'll never understand how much watching other people's pain gets me off, hearing their screams and knowing that I have the power of a god." -Velvet Acid Christ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net