Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Overwatch and Daemon Summoning

 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Manchester, UK
Hi all.

Had my first game with my Chaos army this week, using the Black Legion list from the vault (before it disappeared). I'm following developments with interest on the forums, and plan on offering my own 2 cents once I've played a few more games with the existing list.

Anyway, to the point.

If I have a formation with Daemonic Pact on Overwatch, and choose to react to movement, am I allowed to summon Daemons before shooting? Reading between the lines, the shooting counts as the formation's action for the turn so it looks like I can, but I just wanted to check with you guys if that's the way it's usually played, or not :)


Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
IIRC Daemons are summoned before the action test dice is rolled, so the sequence of play would look something like:


- Chaos Formation A declairs it is going to activate.
- Chaos Formation A summons some Daemons.
- Chaos Formation A rolls an initiative test, passes, and goes on Overwatch.
- Enemy formation moves.
- Chaos Formation A activates its Overwatch and shoots.

- End of turn: Daemons dissappear unless the Formation has Daemonic Focus.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
E&C: but what if the end of the turn comes before the overwatch is activated? The next turn, when the overwatch is activated it counts as the activation for that turn, though no initiative test is taken that turn.

It's currently unclear as to whether daemons could be summoned in that circumstance insofar as I can tell.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 11:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
I'd err on the side of 'no daemons for you', but agree that one could go both ways.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:15 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
If you are placing the formation on overwatch as an activation then you summon daemons before activating as normal. If you carry the overwatch over turns the daemons would disappear in the end phase if you didn't have an icon, so they couldn't summon more daemons when they shoot overwatch.

I did ask a while ago about formations that start the game on overwatch and the consensus was that no daemons could be summoned as you don't activate the formation so you can't summon before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 235
Location: Manchester, UK
Thanks for clearing that one up guys.

That situation ddin't occur in the last game I played, but I'm going to have marines dropped on my head next week, so it's quite likely.

Looks like a second Obliterator might be the better option than Daemonic pact in my Garrison!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Overwatch and Daemon Summoning
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:46 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Yep.  Daemons are summoned in the activation sequence only.  Firing on OW "counts as" your activation for the turn with respect to additional actions, but it's not an activation.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net