Quote: (Moscovian @ 23 Sep. 2008, 15:28 )
Ginger, if you change the rule as you suggested, you are still left with the CC-skimmer imposing its CC attack on the FF-skimmer.
Got it in one Mosc

. But this is exactly what happens in the normal game. So when Terminators assault some enemy formation, they 'impose' CC on the opposition by getting into B-B with them. However when the Terminators are assaulted by something else, the attackers will usually place their units in order to 'impose' an FF assault on the Termies, robbing them of their MW dice.
The 'Skimmer' rule was evidently written at a point when Skimmers were a rarity, and without thought to other possibilities. The obvious intention behind the RAW was to cover the situation of
Skimmer Vs ground units allowing the game to represent vertical distance and emphasising the precise point just made about the advantage of 'Skimmer' over ground-huggers.
I am just suggesting that we ought to use to the 'standard' rules in all other circumstances both for simplicity and clarity, including Skimmer Vs Skimmer.
It is a close 2nd place to troops on overwatch being counted as in cover. ÂÂ
Here I have to agree with Mspaetauf. I really like the idea that infantry on OW are both harder to see and harder to hit.