Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Skimmers forcing Firefights

 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Necron tomb spiders have an extra macro attack in CC...

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:33 am
Posts: 340
I have played against E&C and zombo many times using the rule that Jetpack troops can CC skimmers but Skimmers can choose to use FF. As a Tau player I though it tossed up a bizare question in reguard to the Support Craft rule. Zombo and I have had many um.... "discussions" in the past about it as I flatly refused to accept on terms of logic that a Marine with a rocket strapped to his back could essentially fly up to a manta and punch it. Apart from this stumbling block I must admit I don't think its a bad change to the rule (perhaps because the FF and CC of Tau skimmers is not much different ie. pathetic, so it doesn't really affect me much. No matter what my opponent rolls on, CC or FF, if they're engaged my tanks still die). I also enjoyed having the option to ram devestators and other such targets.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6414
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania USA
Quote: (mspaetauf @ 21 Sep. 2008, 11:14 )

Quote: (Ginger @ 21 Sep. 2008, 14:57 )

Guys, are the Eldar Shining Spears the only skimmer affected by this because they have better CC than FF??

actually, yes, i think so.

this whole threat seems to me like a big "it's unfair why can't my shining spears use CC" whine coming from an eldar player.

try playing space marines instead  :p

cheers,

The Dark Eldar Reavers and Necron Abbatoir are both CC-skimmers as well and with army list development who knows what else is on the way (perhaps Tyranids or Chaos or who knows).  

And this isn't a b!tch and whine section - I didn't bring it up.  Well, I brought it up two and a half years ago but just let it go.  It got dredged up here recently so I am still in defense of my original position.  I doubt it will ever change and it will probably remain the goofy game mechanic it is.

The skimmer cc/ff rule was never clarified accurately from the beginning because there were only three armies and none of them had CC-skimmers.  The seated rules champ (Greg Lane) at the time never understood this IMO if you look at the thread link referenced on page one.   The original rule eludes to the fact that the ability to force a FF is tied directly to its ability to go above ground troops and shoot at them at will.

A CC-skimmer vs FF-skimmer would be a much different mechanic.  The argument used on this thread is that the FF-skimmer would be ducking and weaving and would be able to avoid being hit.  If that is the case though, I doubt it is doing much firing either so it all balances out in the end.  

And after Zombocom's posts I tend to agree with him that Ginger's solution wouldn't do it either.  I hadn't thought it all the way through.  

Allowing both skimmers to choose their FF or CC values and would be the best way to handle it and the easiest FAQ to write.  "If a skimmer assaults another skimmer, neither unit is forced to FF and each unit may decide to use either their CC or FF value."  It could be further clarified with an example.

_________________
author of Syncing Forward and other stories...

It's a dog-eat-dog world, and I've got my Milkbone underwear on.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6414
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania USA
Not a rule change - an FAQ.  The FAQ I proposed easily fits with the RAW and actually makes more sense.

_________________
author of Syncing Forward and other stories...

It's a dog-eat-dog world, and I've got my Milkbone underwear on.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:26 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6414
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania USA
Hena, you are making the vein in the side of my head bulge.  :sus:

The rules do indeed state that a skimmer can choose to use its CC or FF.  However, if BOTH the attacker and the defender are skimmers, BOTH should get to choose to use their CC or FF.  the RAW reads exactly that way.

Ex. Shining Spears attack Land Speeders in an assault and go BtB.  The defending player has the Land Speeders automatically choose FF.  The attacking player has the Shining Spears choose CC.  
One rolls FF, the other rolls CC.  The process is done.  

If the Land Speeder 'forces' the Shining Spear into a Firefight, that player has in essence taken away the choice of the Shining Spear player to choose CC or FF and broken the rule!  The Rule-as-written makes more sense this way than with the interpretation that we have now.

A rule change would actually IMO mean changing a rule.  This would be clarifying a rule and not changing it by a single word.

_________________
author of Syncing Forward and other stories...

It's a dog-eat-dog world, and I've got my Milkbone underwear on.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6414
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania USA
The choosing one option precludes the other.  If I may "choose to choose my firefight" then I may also choose not to use my firefight.  There are no other options, Hena.

This statement:
If they do this then the enemy must use their firefight value also.


is utterly and completely tied in with this statement:
This represents the skimmer lifting off the ground out of reach of enemy ground units.

A CC-skimmer does not fall into the category of of 'the enemy' from line 2 as defined in line 3 'enemy ground unit'.  

The reason for the rule is just as important as the rule itself because it helps define the thinking that when into the rule.  If line 3 wasn't important to the rule, it wouldn't have been put into it in the first place.

_________________
author of Syncing Forward and other stories...

It's a dog-eat-dog world, and I've got my Milkbone underwear on.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:14 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (Moscovian @ 22 Sep. 2008, 13:50 )

The original rule eludes to the fact that the ability to force a FF is tied directly to its ability to go above ground troops and shoot at them at will.

It doesn't allude to that explanation.  It gives it outright.

However, it doesn't state it as part of the mechanic.  It gives it as a background explanation.  That's no different than any other background explanation.  A Thunderhawk critical talks about it crashing as the background explanation but a Thunderhawk on the ground that takes a critical is still destroyed because the mechanic is destruction, even though it can't crash as described in the flavor text.

Not a rule change - an FAQ.  The FAQ I proposed easily fits with the RAW and actually makes more sense.

The rules do indeed state that a skimmer can choose to use its CC or FF.

The rules state no such thing.  They only state that a skimmer may force FF.

Here's the text.  2.1.13:
Skimmers may always choose to use their firefight value in
an assault, even if there are enemy units in base contact
with the skimmer. If they do this then the enemy must use
their firefight value also.

There is no affirmative "choose CC" option.  The results of being able to force FF against a ground unit means that a skimmer can "choose CC" in practical terms but that choice is not granted by the rule text in any fashion.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:24 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Holy cow.  I couldn't get a reply written without 3 others in between.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6414
Location: Allentown, Pennsylvania USA
I'll let it go.  I've been living with it for 2 1/2 years.  I still think you are mad if you actually believe the original rule intended for CC-skimmers to be forced into FF.  It never crossed anybody's minds at the time, but had it been an issue I doubt it would be as cut and dry as some seem to be making it.  It will always strike me as goof-ball call.

Maybe I'll ask Jervis in 2009.  :))

_________________
author of Syncing Forward and other stories...

It's a dog-eat-dog world, and I've got my Milkbone underwear on.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Skimmers forcing Firefights
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Umm at the risk of causing veins to pop, it is the element of imposing an assault value on the opponent that I see as crucial here.

The current rule allows a skimmer to impose FF values on the combat. If this is already allowed, what is the problem in letting the attacking skimmer impose CC values on the combat in exactly the same way?

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 55 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net