Cheers for that Hena, so put vehicles at the front usually? That way they won't be suppressed but would have no problems with firing? But not in assaults. That would silly.

How does suppression work with units that can't actually fire? If a leman russ company had some griffons and 2 blast markers and was firing at a target out of the griffons range, could you still suppress something that can't fire?
I think i have worked out what i was getting confused about now. The text for the FW book and the specialist games PDF are very different:
SG
"All enemy units within 30cm range and LOF of at least one unit with markerlights are considered to be marked. However,
Tau units that are broken or have marched that turn cannot use their markerlights. The action the markerlight unit is carrying
out does not have any impact on guided missiles (except ‘March’, as noted above).
Guided missiles must either be guided by a markerlight or be fired unguided. If they are fired unguided, they follow all the
normal shooting rules. If a missile is guided by a markerlight, the firing unit does not need a line of fire to the target unit and
receives a +1 to hit modifier. However, hits may only be allocated to units from the target formation that are marked by a
markerlight. Apart from that, all the normal shooting rules apply. Tracer missiles which are fired unguided from orbiting
spacecraft may only be targeted at War Engines – Tracer missiles which are fired guided from orbiting batteries function as
normal."
*The markerlight is mentioned in the notes part of the unit card*
FW
"Guided Missiles must be guided by a markerlight to be fired. If they are guided by markerlights, hits may only be allocated to units from the target formation that are within range and line of fire of a unit with markerlights. As long as this requirement is met, the firing unit does not need a line of fire to the target itself, but must still be in range.
The tau unit illuminating the target may not be broken, suppressed or have marched this turn. It doesn't have to belong to the firing formation itself, can be used to illuminate any number of target units, and the action it performs does not alter the markerlight value in any way ( no +1 for sustained fire or -1 for double, for example ), unless specifically stated ( e.g. the +1 to hit with pathfinders multiple markerlights. ) This aside, the normal shooting rules apply."
*The markerlight is in the weapons section of the unit card*
I'm really sorry if i'm sounding a bit pedantic but its the being in the weapons bit that confused me, wasn't sure if i needed to actually fire at a particular formation to use it etc

Dave, . . . uh?
