(dptdexys @ Jan. 25 2008,18:12)
QUOTE
Hi Tim (not sure if you did this without taking an initiative roll but have seen others do it at tournaments)
Even if you are taking a hold as your action (not allowed in the rulebook,it lists the actions that can be chosen) you have to make an initiative roll and risk taking the BM.
Yep, this is the process for taking an "Action":
There are three steps to carrying out an action:
I ? Nominate a formation.
II? Declare which action it will carry out.
III? The formation must then pass an action test to see ifit carries out the action successfully.
There is no option to *not* take the test and "hold" instead... you declare the action the formation is taking *before* the die-roll... so, you could do "Hold" -> fail roll -> Hold with +1BM, but not just "Hold".