Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Rules question

 Post subject: Rules question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:28 pm
Posts: 154
Location: Southport. UK
in the rules it states that a skimmer with ground units in base contact can choose to hover and make the units in contact use their fire fight value to attack.....

my question is...:

what if the unit in contact is a skimmer aswell?

.i.e. harradrian and valkrie.

can the haradrian atack the valkrie with its cc value instead of its firefight (i would imagine the haradrian would be all over the valk before the pilot knew what was happening ;) )

thanks
alex


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
From the master FAQ.

Quote:
Q: If during an Assault Move during an Engage Action a Skimmer moves into base contact with an enemy Skimmer, can the defending Skimmer force them to use their Firefight values?
A: Yes. If either player chooses, both skimmers use their FF (it can be imagined that they enter a “skimmer dogfight”).


So, unless both players agree to use CC then FF is used.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:28 pm
Posts: 154
Location: Southport. UK
Another question!!

if you buy a formation of terminators and then a seperate formation of land raiders, can the terminators ride inside them?

if yes... can the land raider fprmation pick up the terminators, make a march move, drop them off after the third move.... can the terminators then an engagement action in their own activation?

thanks
Alex


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
Remember a Harridan is flying just by flapping it's wings, rather than powerful engines. The Valk. would be able to move a lot faster than it and avoid it.

As to your second question, no that's not allowed. The Land Raiders can't use their transport for anyone outside of their own formation. It's a different situation with War Engine transports however e.g. Thunderhawks,WE transports have different rules and can transport other formations.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Taker of Skulls wrote:
Another question!!

if you buy a formation of terminators and then a seperate formation of land raiders, can the terminators ride inside them?

if yes... can the land raider fprmation pick up the terminators, make a march move, drop them off after the third move.... can the terminators then an engagement action in their own activation?

thanks
Alex

RAW - No. Only WE transport can carry troops from a different formation. As Land Raiders are not WE, they can only transport troops from their own formation (where the LRs are paid for as an upgrade).

And to your second question regarding embarking / disembarking; follow the rules in 3.13 of WE transport.
This says that the WE may take an action before troops mount up, but may not activate afterwards. This is to avoid the precise example that you present which would allow the terminators or the WE to move further than they should.

Also note the difference between in formation transport (1.7.5) and WE transport (3.1.3). In-formation transport moves over the troops to pick them up and they can disembark after a second move - but the entire formation has activated. Whereas the WE activates, then separately the infantry activates to move into the WE - ending up with both formations activated.

If you want to house rule that the Land Raiders can pick up the terminators I suggest you follow the above lead and disallow either formation from activating once they have combined.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:03 pm
Posts: 289
Location: Hungary
I got two questions, the first one is quick; Does an army must contain a supreme commander? Or you can freely decide whether buying it or play without it?

The other one: Infantry on open ground overwatch. Gains 5+ Cover save and obscuration (-1 to hit modif)
When they shoot it, the marker is removed, just as the Cover save.
Now what if not all of them shoot? I know it just overcomplicates stuff, going into individual level detail, yet this option came up with other units, mainly slow firing and one shot. You may decide to not shoot out all of them. The same could be applied on overwatch... what do you think?

_________________
Epic Commander of the Prassium Invasion Troops 214th Regiment
***Action is our prayer. Victory is our offering.***


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 10:26 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Örebro, Sweden
1) As far as I know it's only mandatory to take the supreme commander for Orks. If it's an upgrade then you don't have to take it.

2) If some units in the formation shoot then the whole formation count as having shot. They therefore loose their overwatch status and consequently they loose the save.

Cheers


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:15 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Borka wrote:
2) If some units in the formation shoot then the whole formation count as having shot. They therefore loose their overwatch status and consequently they loose the save.
To clarify, this doesn't mean that all units count as having shot (which would affect one-shot or slow firing status). Rather, overwatch status refers to the formation as a whole, so if only 1 unit fires then the formation is no longer on overwatch. If the formation is not on overwatch, then none of the units in open ground count as being in cover any more, neither can any units that didn't fire take any overwatch shots later in the turn, nor can they take an action later in the turn.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 3:15 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Borka wrote:
1) As far as I know it's only mandatory to take the supreme commander for Orks. If it's an upgrade then you don't have to take it.

Cheers


To further clarify. There is no rule that forces you to field a SC, but some army lists may force you anyway. No waaagh without a warlord, whatever its size. Likewise, Lost and the Damned forces also have to appoint an Arch Heretic.

/Fredmans


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net