Quote: (Moscovian @ 19 Sep. 2008, 15:05 )
Better take a hard look at War Engines which already allow this then.  I don't see how or why this would open up any doors to confuse assaults.  This is a very specific situation that has little relation to anything else.  In assaults you fall into one of two categories: ground or skimmer.  If you aren't one then you are the other.  We're not talking about an endless variety of combinations here.  At least, I'm not.
Actually, I do not think you are correct here. I am pretty sure the War Engine rule was set up this way because IG SHT company formations found themselves at a disadvantage if engaged in CC combats, where there are many examples in history of tanks providing mutual protection by clearing each others hulls. If there is a single WE attacked only by enemy in CC, then the WE is obliged to use CC factors - unless it is a skimmer of course
The point is that WE can only use FF against distant targets and CC against those in B-B. So, yes a Cobra can lift off and use its FF values against Shining Spears attackers, but only against those that are in LoS and which are not in B-B with itself.