Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

2 Questions to floaters

 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany
i do not understand some sentences in the description low and high altitude due to the floater rules. the last sentence in the description low and high altitude says:"Template weapons may affect the aerial unit or units on the ground, but not both." does this apply when a floater shoots at something or vice versa? because i thought that only infantry on first fire or aa vehicles can shoot at floaters. template weapons can shoot at floaters too???? i think that this is a unlucky penned expression?!

another question due to high altitude. in the middle of the description i can read:"Jump-equipped troops can
safely disembark, but not get on." does this mean, that skimmers can not get off?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:25 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 8:45 pm
Posts: 11149
Location: Canton, CT, USA
First question: This applies when any weapon, presumably a barrage weapon, that uses a template fires at a floater.

Second question: I think skimmers would be allowed to disembark also, like jump troopers.

_________________
"I don't believe in destiny or the guiding hand of fate." N. Peart


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(Dwarf Supreme @ Jun. 28 2007,19:25)
QUOTE
First question: This applies when any weapon, presumably a barrage weapon, that uses a template fires at a floater.

Second question: I think skimmers would be allowed to disembark also, like jump troopers.

ok, but when barrage weapons can fire at floaters and fliers, why can i not find it in the description of the floater? there i can read under point 6) Hard Targets:" Only Infantry-class units on First Fire Orders, and AA units may fire at Floaters that are in the air (high or low altitude)." hey, it would be so easy to add "and all template/barrage weapons can fire at floater, too". and by the way do template weapons have first fire orders too like infantry??? sometimes i do not understand why there are so many lengthy explanation!? it could be so easy.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:06 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 8:45 pm
Posts: 11149
Location: Canton, CT, USA
Theoretically, a unit on a hill can be at the same elevation as a floater, thus allowing it to fire at it directly. I believe the intent of the rule is to disallow someone firing at a floater and ground units at the same time.

_________________
"I don't believe in destiny or the guiding hand of fate." N. Peart


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:21 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(Dwarf Supreme @ Jun. 28 2007,20:06)
QUOTE
Theoretically, a unit on a hill can be at the same elevation as a floater, thus allowing it to fire at it directly. I believe the intent of the rule is to disallow someone firing at a floater and ground units at the same time.

no, i think this is a very dubious description, which remembers me at the old sm2nd rules. either barrage/template weapons can shoot at floaters/fliers or not! if so, then you have to complete the sentence under point 6 in the way:"Only Infantry-class units on First Fire Orders, AA units and barrage/template weapons may fire at Floaters that are in the air (high or low altitude). Psykers on First Fire Orders may use their abilities as normal." and then the sentence:"Template weapons may affect the aerial unit or units on the ground, but not both." would make sence at all!

you know, i like it easy. can you imagine how long we have discussed this dubious description in or group during our last battle?!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 12:53 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
It is just covering off the possible situation of an AA unit that uses a barrage.  Currently none exist...don't read too much into things.

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(zap123 @ Jun. 29 2007,00:53)
QUOTE
It is just covering off the possible situation of an AA unit that uses a barrage. ?Currently none exist...don't read too much into things.

ok, so what do the rules say? can template/barrage weapons fire at floaters/fliers or not?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:10 am
Posts: 102
Location: BrisVegas, Australia
Under the current rules, no.  The rules specifically state that only Infantry on First Fire orders and AA units can fire at them.  As zap123 states, the line about templates is only there to cover the eventuality that the unit firing may be using a template but it would still need to be an Infantry unit on First Fire or an AA unit.

_________________
You know, if you can sort of muscle your way past the gag reflex, all kinds of food possibilities open up!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:58 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Good point....so if a Noise Marine on First Fire orders shoots at a Nightwing hovering over a Beastman, only the flyer is affected by the template, not the Beastman underneath.

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: 2 Questions to floaters
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:18 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(zap123 @ Jun. 29 2007,07:58)
QUOTE
Good point....so if a Noise Marine on First Fire orders shoots at a Nightwing hovering over a Beastman, only the flyer is affected by the template, not the Beastman underneath.

that is a clar statement!

but why is it not possible to write it down in the rules?

like you said:" if infantrie or aa fire with templates, then..."

and you will have no dicussion about this!!!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net