Quote:
You really think a basic Krieg company with Gorgons is worth as much as 600-650 points? (you really need to analyse the two together and in the context of the army as a whole rather than the transports cost separately) Krieg armies are already often on the lower end of the activation scale as is without having to completely cripple them.
I agree. 650 is the price bracket of things like Ravagers, Reavers and two Revenant Titans, not 20 unarmoured infantry taking turns to fire the one heavy stubber from a list that requires 1 of these for every 2 support formations. These things really have to be judged in context

Quote:
I've been using Necrons recently and to trap them like this, the upgraded Necron infantry phalanx will almost certainly have to stay on the board if they win the engagement. This then means they get utterly destroyed by one of the 2 other huge Krieg infantry formations waiting close by.
That sounds like clever placement of formations by the Krieg player to me
If the Necrons lose, they get out of jail free with their retreat into a monolith portal - now that's another absolutely superb transport vehicle. If they win, then yes I would hope that they have at least picked up enough blast markers and casualties that when 2 other assault formations that cost about 1000 points hit them they will lose the following fights.
Of course, if they lose without being wiped out they get another chance to escape off the board via monolith and regenerate between turns.
All that to say plenty of other armies have good rules and formations too.
Quote:
If the Krieg player is having to move his own troops as part of a barge counter-charge, would the attcking units (the Terminators in the above example for instance) count as some of the barged units as they would have to be moved aswell to stay in base contact with the Guardsmen they have already charged?
As far as I know any infantry charged by Terminators would have to stay in contact with the terminators. If the Gorgon barges the terminators the infantry would have to be dragged along for the ride and take their macroweapon medicine like guardsmen.
Let's try get that rules question nailed down.[] We know from the rules that Gorgons can move in a counter charge
[] We know from the FAQ that War Engines can barge in a counter charge
[] We know from the rules that AV can move over their own infantry without impediment
[] The process for barging is 'Move the war engine as far as desired, and then place any units that were barged out of the way as close as you can to their starting point, while still touching the base of the war engine that so rudely pushed them aside. The maximum number of units a war engine can barge aside in this manner is two per point of its starting damage capacity.'
That's all pretty clear so far. As I understand it, the type of scenario still being debated is:
[] If a War Engine can reach enemy units that are already in contact with friendly infantry, can it barge them out of the way and have them placed as close as possible to their starting point, now touching the base of the war engine AND the infantry they had already contacted (which is likely to drag the friendly infantry slightly too)?
[] Is it illegal for a War Engine's barge move into enemy formations to cause any change in the position of friendly infantry that were in contact with barged units from the enemy formation?
Non-WE units already in contact with the enemy are not allowed a counter assault move of their own, but I've not been able to find anything in 1.12.4 Counter charges or 3.3 War Engine Assaults that indicates the barges are impossible if the enemy formation is already in base contact with friendly infantry.
Other points of view are welcome.