Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

2 Landas, One Warband

 Post subject: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 97
Hi!

If one Landa ground assaults an enemy formation with a Warband, after the assault is resolved either by retaining the initiative or by waiting for my next turn, can a second Landa come in and load this Warband to fly off at the end of the round? Am I reading it correctly that this second Landa also gets to do a ground attack if there is an enemy formation in range?
If the warband loses the engagement can they still be picked up? If a broken formation can hop into this second Landa and flies off the board do they still attempt to rally as normal in the end phase?

Is any of this worthwhile, or should I just stick to one Landa, one unit?

Thanks!

Joel


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:17 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: North Yorkshire
Yes, this is a valid tactic and regularly done by Space Marines. However, I'd spend the points on a second warband in the second Landa or not take the second Landa and have 4 Fighta-Bommers instead.

_________________
_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk - home of the UK Epic tournament scene
NetEA NetERC Xenos Lists Chair
NetEA Ork + Feral Ork + Speed Freak Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:26 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:55 pm
Posts: 611
To expand:

1) yes, a second landa can perform a ground attack and, whilst doing so, land, shoot as normal, then scoop up a friendly formation assuming all models are within 5cm of the landa, are eligible to be transported by said landa and there is enough room to fit the entire formation.

2) The fact that a formation ebing scooped up in this way started it's turn in another landa is immaterial to this, as is whether it's already activated yet or not, or whether it;s broken or not.

3) If a broken formation is scooped up in this way and flown off board, it rallies as normal (obviously counting as having no enemy within 30cm!).

As Tim pointed out, this is a fairly standard tactic for getting most use out of a terminator formation but would work for Orks as well, though you'd have more trouble making sure all bases are within 5cm of the landa when it lands.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 97
Thanks for the words of Wisdom!

Now is there a clever person who can tell me there's a way to work my Warlord's commander ability into a ground attack equation? It woul sure be a sweet way to blitzkrieg some enemy unit, but I'm pretty sure it has to be on an Engage action, not a Ground Attack?

Thanks!

Joel


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:41 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
No, you cannot use "commander" with off-table forces (in a Transporter or elsewhere) because the separate formations need to be within 5 cms of each other before the "commander" formation activates.

So you are correct that this can only be used for on-table forces in an "engage" action.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 97
Thank you!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:18 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Just to be clear about the above, a formation containing a commander must activate in order to use the "commander" rule, counting -1 modifier if any have BMs.

WE transports can carry several formations, so it is conceivable that an Ork Landa could pick up the remnants of the Warlord's warband and some other troops, to perform a ground assault in a later turn. In this situation it is the Landa that activates, not the 'Warlord'. However the entire lot is considered to be a single formation throughout the ground assault until the end of the activation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2 Landas, One Warband
PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:55 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 9:52 am
Posts: 97
I appreciate the further info!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net