Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Transport Options, Garrisons and Land Raiders http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=15319 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:41 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transport Options, Garrisons and Land Raiders |
I'm curious how the Space Marine Transports rules work with regards Garrisoning. From 6.1.5 "Formations where no more than one of the units has a move greater than 15cms, and where none of the units are war engines" From 6.3.1 "Also note that you don’t have to take Rhinos if you don’t want to. If you’d rather field the formation on foot instead, so it can act as a garrison for example, or be transported in a Thunderhawk Gunship, then you may do so." "Choosing transport options is part of the army selection process. Portions of a formation may be left behind during deployment (to garrison, for example) the decision to exchange options, even “free†|
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transport Options, Garrisons and Land Raiders |
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 13 Apr. 2009, 14:41 ) What defines 'portion' in the last paragraph? The middle paragraph seems to indicate an all or nothing approach. But how would that interfere with a split transport formation? You can choose to dump any selection of units before deployment. Devastator Squad w 2 Rhinos Is it OK to drop 1 Rhino but keep the other, for a Garrison? Or is it all or nothing? Yes. Devastator Squad w 1 Razorback + 2 Rhinos Can I drop the Rhinos and keep the Razorback, for a Garrison? Yes. Devastator Squad w 1 Land Raider + 1 Rhinos Same as Razorbacks above. Except in this case, there's no comparison to Transport options? Yes, you can drop the Rhinos.  However, the Land Raider transport capacity does interact with the SM special rule. Finally, just to be perfectly clear with Land Raiders, there's no restriction on purchasing them for a Devastator formation? You don't need to worry about the Transport rule? So I could take 4 Razorbacks (any number up to the number required to transport), and 4 Land Raiders, and there's no issue there? What about just 4 Land Raiders (when 2 would be sufficient to carry)? You buy the Land Raiders first, then Razorbacks, then get free Rhinos. The LR upgrade allows you to buy up to 4 LRs without reference to required transport capacity. Razorbacks can only be bought up to the total needed to transport the formation.  In the Devastator example, if you have 2 or more Land Raiders everyone has transport.  The "number required to transport" is zero, so you can't buy any Razorbacks. Any untransported units left after both LRs and Razorbacks gets the minimum number of free Rhinos to carry them. |
Author: | Ginger [ Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Transport Options, Garrisons and Land Raiders |
To expand on Neal's comments, there are two separate principles here; buying the army and dropping units for garrisoning purposes. When buying transport the general rule is that all the infantry must be provided with transport. SM transport rules are a little tricky, but in summary, you buy Land Raiders then Razorbacks and only if there are some infantry still 'walking' do you get sufficient Rhinos to carry them. Having bought the transport, you are no longer required to ensure that the whole lot can be transported when garrisoning, so 'mechanised' infantry may elect to drop some or all of their associated vehicles in order to comply with the garrisoning restrictions. Also note that you do not get BMs for dropping vehicles in this way before the start of the game. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |