Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
1.4.2 clarification please http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=28556 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | 1.4.2 clarification please |
Just need a clarification: In the rule at 1.4.2 it states Some units have special abilities that are specified as taking effect at the beginning of the turn. These effects are resolved before the Strategy roll. Similarly, abilities that are used at the start of an action can be taken before the Initiative roll is made or the action chosen. If both players have effects for the beginning of the turn, take turns resolving them starting with the player with the higher Strategy rating, alternating between players for each subsequent effect until all effects are resolved. I was wondering if both sides have Teleporters in what order are they deployed? It seems slightly ambiguous to me and may have lead to an error in a game I had recently. Does each player deploy all of his TP formations at once, in turn OR does each player take it in turns by formation? e.g. I go, I go, I go, you go, you go Or I go, you go, I go, you go. Cheers all |
Author: | Dave [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
You alternate by formation. If I have two teleports and you have two and the higher strategy it would go: You choose to teleport a formation (or pass and teleport nothing this turn) I choose to teleport a formation (or pass and teleport nothing this turn) You choose to teleport the second formation (assuming you didn't pass last time) I choose to teleport the second formation (assuming I didn't pass last time) |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
Ok that's how we played it so good stuff. If I pass to the other player to go first and he passes what happens? Say he has one and I have two? I assume he forgoes placement? Thanks Dave. |
Author: | Dave [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
If you have the higher SR you can make the other guy go first. Once he passes he's done. And once you pass a second time you're done. |
Author: | Kyrt [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:45 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
Where is the bit in the rulebook that says you can make the other guy go first? |
Author: | Dave [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 7:59 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
The old FAQs on 1.4.2: Quote: Q: With abilities that are used at the start of the turn, who goes first? A: The player with the higher strategy rating has the option of acting first or forcing the opponent to act first. I moved them to 1.5 and 1.14. Should I put it back in 1.4.2 as well? |
Author: | Kyrt [ Wed Nov 19, 2014 8:37 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
Might as well I suppose. |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Thu Nov 20, 2014 1:35 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
Yeah, I think anything that relates to another rule should be at minimum mentioned in the section. I know back in the day the void shields rules seemed to be impossible to find once upon a time and they weren't in the war engines section etc. where people imagined them to be. |
Author: | Borka [ Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
Dave wrote: The old FAQs on 1.4.2: Quote: Q: With abilities that are used at the start of the turn, who goes first? A: The player with the higher strategy rating has the option of acting first or forcing the opponent to act first. I moved them to 1.5 and 1.14. Should I put it back in 1.4.2 as well? I think you should because the rule underlined above by Dobbsy suggest the opposite to this FAQ. Reading it I would assume the player with the higher strategy rating is forced to start. |
Author: | Dave [ Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
OK, I'll put it back. I'm also going to add FAQs saying higher SR must go first when placing objectives, and setting up garrisons and formations on their table edge. |
Author: | Ginger [ Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:01 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
And where both players have the same SR, how many times do you decide who does what? Is there a single die roll or many? |
Author: | Dave [ Fri Nov 21, 2014 1:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
We've always played it as one. Do we need a further clarification or entry? |
Author: | Ginger [ Fri Nov 21, 2014 2:41 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
I have known players dice separately for sides and teleporting, as well as the Strategy roll-off. So yes it might be useful. An alternative method in friendly games is for the loser (or lower strategy player) to lay out the terrain and the other chooses sides. |
Author: | Dave [ Fri Nov 21, 2014 4:03 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: 1.4.2 clarification please |
Sounds like something to relegate to the 5-min. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |