Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
War Engines/Transport/Assaults http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=15802 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
So my Orks attack a fully loaded Landing Craft or Thunderhawk (or any other WE transporting a different formation). Do the troops inside intermingle as per normal (i.e. attacker chooses) Or they automatically mingle like when the WE assaults And in the first instance when they are not declared intermingled can they still disembark? |
Author: | Ginger [ Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:43 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
I am sure that I have raised similar questions in the past. IIRC much of the answer is found in 1.7.5 Transport Units may embark or disembark as part of a counter-charge move (see 1.12.4), unless the transport vehicle carrying them is already in base contact with two enemy units – in which case they must stay on board (they are trapped inside!). andTransported units are counted towards the number of units in the formation for all rules purposes (ie, when working out the number of units involved in an assault or if a formation is broken by Blast markers, etc) So the answer is 1) The troops inside may disembark and join in the fight unless they have been locked in by the number of enemy units in B-B with the WE. 2) Even if the troops are inside, they count in the assault resolution, (including any BMs and 'Inspiring characters as well). |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
But that surely refers to intergral transports. WE later bring an exception to that rule later in the book. |
Author: | Ginger [ Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
No TRC. the WE rule augment these transport rule in terms of the way that separate formations may combine and fight etc. It does not replace these bits about what happens when they are combined - so for example you may disembark as part of a countercharge (which is not covered in section #3 for War Engines) |
Author: | nealhunt [ Mon Jun 08, 2009 3:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
A loaded WE transport is automatically considered intermingled. You can't single out just the transport. |
Author: | Erik M [ Tue Aug 18, 2009 2:32 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
Quote: (Ginger @ 07 Jun. 2009, 17:43 ) 1.7.5 TransportUnits may embark or disembark as part of a counter-charge move (see 1.12.4), unless the transport vehicle carrying them is already in base contact with two enemy units – in which case they must stay on board (they are trapped inside!). ...two enemy units per DC... Right? |
Author: | Man of kent [ Tue Aug 18, 2009 3:08 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
correct erik |
Author: | Ginger [ Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:33 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
And note that if the troops are 'locked in', they still cout towards the assault resolution. So potentially the 8+ orcs which have locked the marines in their Landing Craft could still be outnumbered by the tacticals and vehicles; and any Inspiring characters onboard still count as well. As far as I can see, the Landing Craft could even perform an assault against a medium sized target while embarking troops. Although the LC would only get 4x assault dice, the additional troop numbers and characters would be likely to sway the assault in favour of the Marines (though Neal may also have views on this) |
Author: | nealhunt [ Wed Aug 19, 2009 2:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | War Engines/Transport/Assaults |
Nope. That's accurate. It would take just the right troop placement, but an embark/assault action could work. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |