Login |  Register |  FAQ

The End Times - wonder if GW will advance the 40k timeline?

Post subject: The End Times - wonder if GW will advance the 40k timeline?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

In a weak moment I ordered a 28mm Orc army earlier in the week. I went with Mantic because of the price and the look of the miniatures. Then I browsed the GW site to see what an equivalent army of mostly ten year old miniatures would cost. It wasn't pretty. That can't be good for business. Also, why increase the price of ten year old plastic miniatures? (Apart from the obvious reason that they seem to have gotten away with it so far). I work in the plastics industry and boy let me tell you, it isn't the raw material cost at least. And you'd think they had recovered their initial mould and design investment several times over by now.

I mean seriously, raise the cost per miniature and increase the amount needed for the game. How long will it work? /end rant

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: The End Times - wonder if GW will advance the 40k timeli
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 3:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Because they (think they) can.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2014 9:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Classic mistake in looking at pricing is to consider how much they cost to produce. The only reason this matters is in whether to sell them at all, ie if you can't sell them for more than that then don't sell them. No, you sell things for as much as your customers are willing to pay (as an aggregate group). The group GW aims at is middle class with disposable income and enough of them are willing to pay the prices. Sure, if they lowered them, maybe more people would buy them. But it would have to be a large number of extra people for it to be worth the profit lost from the people who would have paid a higher price.