Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Using scout ZoC to force an engage action
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=32461
Page 1 of 1

Author:  tgjensen [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:25 am ]
Post subject:  Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

Just a question regarding forcing enemy formations to engage you:

Say you craftily surround an enemy formation with your scouts in such a way that they are in your 10 cm zone of command, and leaving no gaps between your units big enough for the enemy to move through. You've then effectively forced them to engage you.

What happens if they fail their activation roll? A Hold action does not allow for them to engage you, and they can't move out of your ZoC either. Do they get to perform the Hold action anyway (ie shooting or regrouping)? Do they still have to/get to engage? Or are they broken, or even destroyed?

For that matter, what happens if you pull this stunt on a formation with a move value of 0 cm?

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

I'd play it that they have to choose the movement version of the Hold order. They then go pretty much nowhere. This includes 0cm movement units.

Author:  Dave [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

Gaps between your units don't matter, as you can't enter into another ZoC while moving. Unless you meant gaps between your units' ZoC?

Anyway, I'd play this like a ZoCed portal http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#5 ... technology

That assumes a slow moving unit though. A 25cm+ speed unit might have a chance to move out depending on how the scouts were setup, but it's unlikely.

Author:  tgjensen [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

Dave wrote:
Gaps between your units don't matter, as you can't enter into another ZoC while moving. Unless you meant gaps between your units' ZoC?


Well say a formation of Stormboyz have surrounded a Warhound, leaving just a tad bit more than 5cm between each Stormboy stand and the Warhound. The Warhound is mounted on a 50mm base, so the Stormboyz are positioned with just shy of 5cm between each unit.

The Warhound is already inside each enemy unit's ZoC, so if there was a >5cm gap between any of the Stormboyz, the Warhound would be able to escape through there without entering any new ZoCs.

The Eldar portal case sounds like a pretty analogous case. I was wondering if I had missed anything in the FAQ that covered this situation.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

Warhound has a special rule that allows it to step over units if it wants to...

Author:  dptdexys [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

Evil and Chaos wrote:
Warhound has a special rule that allows it to step over units if it wants to...


Not enemey units

Author:  dptdexys [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 5:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

tgjensen wrote:
Just a question regarding forcing enemy formations to engage you:

Say you craftily surround an enemy formation with your scouts in such a way that they are in your 10 cm zone of command, and leaving no gaps between your units big enough for the enemy to move through. You've then effectively forced them to engage you.


Yes unless the opponent has other activations near enough to activate and clear a gap before activating the trapped formation.
Quote:
What happens if they fail their activation roll? A Hold action does not allow for them to engage you, and they can't move out of your ZoC either. Do they get to perform the Hold action anyway (ie shooting or regrouping)? Do they still have to/get to engage? Or are they broken, or even destroyed?

For that matter, what happens if you pull this stunt on a formation with a move value of 0 cm?


If they fail the activation roll and cannot escape the ZofC due to 0cm move or lack of an escape route they still have to follow the rules and use the move part of the hold action to attempt to get away.
This as come up in many forms in the past , heres one
http://www.taccmd.tacticalwargames.net/ ... of+control

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Sun Jun 18, 2017 6:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

dptdexys wrote:
Evil and Chaos wrote:
Warhound has a special rule that allows it to step over units if it wants to...


Not enemey units

Oh, thought it might be allowed if you were in their ZoC before activating. My bad.

Author:  Kyrt [ Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using scout ZoC to force an engage action

dptdexys wrote:
tgjensen wrote:
Just a question regarding forcing enemy formations to engage you:

Say you craftily surround an enemy formation with your scouts in such a way that they are in your 10 cm zone of command, and leaving no gaps between your units big enough for the enemy to move through. You've then effectively forced them to engage you.


Yes unless the opponent has other activations near enough to activate and clear a gap before activating the trapped formation.
Quote:
What happens if they fail their activation roll? A Hold action does not allow for them to engage you, and they can't move out of your ZoC either. Do they get to perform the Hold action anyway (ie shooting or regrouping)? Do they still have to/get to engage? Or are they broken, or even destroyed?

For that matter, what happens if you pull this stunt on a formation with a move value of 0 cm?


If they fail the activation roll and cannot escape the ZofC due to 0cm move or lack of an escape route they still have to follow the rules and use the move part of the hold action to attempt to get away.
This as come up in many forms in the past , heres one
http://www.taccmd.tacticalwargames.net/ ... of+control

Curious what move you you would have the warhound make in the above example? should it try to get equidistant from each of the enmy units whose ZoCs it is in, or try to get as far as it can to a gap (probably leaving it in base contact...)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/