Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Combined Assault resolution rule query

 Post subject: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:23 pm
Posts: 304
Location: Newcastle, UK
Hi guys

Longtime lurker with his first post and it's a rules question, sorry guys.

I play Steel Legion and both my friends play various flavours of Marines depending on their moods and recently one has started experimenting with teleporting several Terminators with a Captain and using them in Combined Assaults instead of the "Thunderbus". Usually against my Reg HQ or a SH Company of course.

In the rules it says (several times in several places.....) something like "2D6 is used to resolve combined assaults". Does this apply to only the units that are making the combined assault?

For example 2 Terminator formations combine against some Baneblades. Do the Terminators roll 2D6 for their combat score (plus modifiers) and the SL roll 1D6 plus modifiers as I'm assuming?

And does the same apply in reverse if one unit declares an assault on an intermingled group of formations?

It's just the rules aren't too clear on this matter unfortunately as it can be read that BOTH defender and attacker would roll 2D6 if their is a combined formation on either side.

Thanks for the help guys. You've got a fantastic thing going here and hopefully when all the units are painted we'll be able to post the battle reports.

P.S could someone PM me the Epic Vassal files if they get a chance please? They work as night porters in a hotel so we may be able to sneak in some extra games when all their charges are snoozing. Here's hoping - always room for more Epic ;D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Both sides in an engage action will always roll 2d6 (picking the highest) regardless of how many formations were on each side.
This is because during an engage action all the formations, attacking or defending count as 1 formation until it is resolved.

From the Commander rule (needed to do a combined assault)
Highlighted the relevant parts.
Quote:
2.1.2 Commanders
Some units and characters are noted as being
commanders
.
Commanders can order up to three formations of troops to follow them when they make an assault, as long as all the formations have at least one unit within 5cm of a unit from the commander’s formation.
Make a single initiative roll for all the formations, counting a - 1 modifier if any have Blast markers. If the test is failed then the commander’s formation receives a Blast marker and must take a hold action, but the other formations are unaffected (and may take an action later in the turn).
If the test is passed then all three formations may take an engage action. Treat the three formations as if they were a single formation for all rules purposes for the duration of the assault. A 2D6 roll is used to resolve a combined assault. If the attackers lose then each formation is broken. If they win then each formation receives a number of Blast markers equal to the casualties it suffered in the combat


From the 1.12.10 Intermingled rules section

Quote:
SPECIAL RULE
1.12.10 Intermingled Formations
Occasionally an attacker will wish to attack a position where units from two enemy formations are intermingled together. When a player declares the target for a charging formation he can choose, if he wishes, to include any enemy formations that are intermingled with the target formation as being part of the target of the charge. Two formations are intermingled if they have any units within 5cm of each other.if there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them. For the purposes of the assault, the intermingled formation is treated as being a single formation. All of the intermingled formations are allowed to make counter charges, and hits may be allocated to all of the formations involved. Once casualties have been worked out, a 2D6 roll is used to resolve the assault. Add together all of the Blast markers on the intermingled formations when working out the result of the assault. If the defender loses then each formation is broken and must withdraw. If the defender wins then each formation receives a number of Blast markers equal to the number of casualties it suffered in the combat (ie, if one defending formation lost two units and then another one, then the first would get two Blast markers and theother would receive one Blast marker).


Hope this helps


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:05 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4893
Location: North Yorkshire
Right I see where you are coming from.

The simple answer is that both sides roll 2D6 and each side picks their highest roll.

It may help to remember that there are a maximum of 4 elements in an engagement.

1. Attacking Formation - This may be 1 or more formations depending on whether you are looking at transporting War Engines / Captains are involved - for the purposes of the engagement they are treated as 1 formation.
2. Defending Formation - This again may be 1 or more formations depending on whether more that 1 formation is intermingled and the attacking force have called them this.
3. Attacking Supporting Fire Formation - Formations that have units within 15cm of defending units & line of sight. These may fire (Fire Fight) if the defending units survive the initial fighting & there is 1 attacking unit left within FF range of a defender.
4. Defending Supporting Fire Formation - Formations that have units within 15cm of attacking units & line of sight. These may fire (Fire Fight) if the attacking units survive the initial fighting & there is 1 defending unit left.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:23 pm
Posts: 304
Location: Newcastle, UK
But if it's basically stating that you roll 2D6 and pick the highest for your combat resultion (as normal) then why does it stipulate the "roll 2D6 for combat resultion for combined engagements" everytime it mentions combined engagements if it's not making an exception to the normal rule?

Sorry if I'm just being dense it just seems like an unneccesary confusion in the rules if everything is just resolved as normal. Surely it would be enough to state that the combined formations are treated as one for the assault and leave it there


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 6:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
flyingthruwater wrote:
But if it's basically stating that you roll 2D6 and pick the highest for your combat resolution (as normal) then why does it stipulate the "roll 2D6 for combat resolution for combined engagements" every time it mentions combined engagements if it's not making an exception to the normal rule?


It's the same for rules on intermingled formations and rules on formations dragged in by counter charges, the rules are just reinforcing the 2d6 per side.

Quote:
Sorry if I'm just being dense it just seems like an unnecessary confusion in the rules if everything is just resolved as normal. Surely it would be enough to state that the combined formations are treated as one for the assault and leave it there


If it is left off we then get players asking, is it 2d6 per individual formation on each side, and then asking why not include it for confirmation instead of having it confusing by not being there.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:23 pm
Posts: 304
Location: Newcastle, UK
Thanks for the clarification guys. It's been bugging me ever since I first read through the rules as it's mentioned during the rules for Engage in the first few pages.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Combined Assault resolution rule query
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 7:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:49 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Yorkshire, England.
Yes, I agree with flyingthruwater. Took me a long time after first reading Epic: Armageddon to realise that they weren't talking about an exception to the rules. I spent several days combing the Assault rules to find what, in that case, was meant to happen in a non-combined assault.

dptdexys is right to say that it should be mentioned when the rules discuss combined assaults of all origins, but I think it would really help whenever it's mentioned to add something like "just like any other assault" to the end of the sentence.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net