Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules questions about some big guns! http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=28948 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | NCO [ Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:07 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules questions about some big guns! |
OK, not questions about the ork big guns but on some of the rules of larger weapons. Firstly I remember reading a rule about this but now cant find it.... If I have two barrage weapons on a unit (well war engine in the squat colossus) with one being a macro weapon and one not how do I fire with this unit? (In this example both are 3BP). So I use one template for each weapon and then work out the results OR use two templates (because of a combined 6BP) with both using the macro rule OR use two templates with neither using the macro rule? Secondly, a volcano cannon hits on a 2+. If I sustain fire does that mean I hit on a 1+ and automatically hit? If not (because a 1 always fails) have I been totally cheating with my marines by not rolling to activate them if they have no blast markers? Thanks for any help. |
Author: | kyussinchains [ Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:12 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
When firing a barrage you can only claim an ability if all weapons firing have it, you may of course fire only the weapon with the ability, you MUST combine all BP weapons in a formation if firing them all, they cannot be fired separately The volcano cannon will still miss on a 1, however the +1 bonus would cancel out any cover penalty due to terrain, hull down, shadowfield etc... Int1+ troops DO activate automatically if they have no blast markers, activation rolls are not part of the 'rule of 1 and 6' This also means a marine landing craft with 6+ blast markers cannot activate and will automatically stand down |
Author: | SpeakerToMachines [ Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:15 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
NCO wrote: use two templates with neither using the macro rule This. NCO wrote: Secondly, a volcano cannon hits on a 2+. If I sustain fire does that mean I hit on a 1+ and automatically hit? It still miss on a 1; However, it will hit targets in cover on a 2+ instead of a 3+. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:28 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
NCO wrote: Firstly I remember reading a rule about this but now cant find it.... If I have two barrage weapons on a unit (well war engine in the squat colossus) with one being a macro weapon and one not how do I fire with this unit? (In this example both are 3BP). So I use one template for each weapon and then work out the results OR use two templates (because of a combined 6BP) with both using the macro rule OR use two templates with neither using the macro rule? From the FAQ, same would apply for MW or any special ability. Section 2.2: Specialist Weapons 2.2.2 Disrupt Q: If an Imperial Guard Artillery Co. contains Basilisks and Manticores (with the Disrupt ability) does a barrage fired from this formation use the Disrupt rules since not all of the units in it have the Disrupt ability? A: Special Weapon abilities are only used if all the units firing have them. So if you wanted to use the Disrupt ability in this case you could only fire with the Manticores. A barrage that used both types of units would not have the Disrupt ability. Quote: Secondly, a volcano cannon hits on a 2+. If I sustain fire does that mean I hit on a 1+ and automatically hit? If not (because a 1 always fails) have I been totally cheating with my marines by not rolling to activate them if they have no blast markers? Thanks for any help. Don't worry, you haven't been cheating your opponent. From the FAQ. 1.6.2 The Action Test Q: When rolling for initiative to activate and order your formations, does a D6 roll of 1 automatically fail? A: No. This can lead to certain formations automatically passing an initiative test. Space Marines, for example, will always pass a test unless modifiers apply to the roll, and Orks doing a double or charge action would pass automatically also. These advantages are built into the points values used in the Grand Tournament army lists, and you should take them into account when working out the forces used in a scenario. |
Author: | Bellerophon [ Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
Thats what makes Marine so good. Interesting about the barrage and abilities with the MW it makes sense, although I would have thought you would still get the disrupt, so thanks for clearing that one up. |
Author: | Ginger [ Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:46 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
Final thought about formations containing both Barrage and other weaponry. When shooting use the following process:-
So in this case, shoot the barrage templates first, then shoot the volcano cannon, applying its hit after the Barrage hits are resolved. |
Author: | Legion 4 [ Fri Jan 30, 2015 3:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
You can use different colored dice to show who hits and the mods in a mixed Barrage. Like Green for TK and Red for MW, etc., ... for example ... just say'n ... ![]() |
Author: | jimmyzimms [ Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Rules questions about some big guns! |
i can attest (and Kyuss will back me up) on the multicolored dice approach. Funny how people seem to lose their fracking minds over that in games like Firestorm Armada though ![]() |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |