Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=28138
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Paradox [ Fri Sep 05, 2014 3:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Question for the forum so I do things right with a Strike Cruiser and 3 tactical units drop podding in.

Questions are:
Do you do each marine drop pod attack (and the orbital strike) separately with regards to applying one blast marker to the attacked unit for "a unit coming under fire" by/for each drop pod and orbital strike that affects it?
Additionally, if a unit is broken, by either the orbital strike or marine drop pod attacks, do they make there withdrawal move immediately (and therefore could be subject to additional blast makers while in a broken state by other drop pod attacks) or do they enter "broken" state after all the orbital strikes and drop pod attacks have been resolved ?

Additional question as it relates to Landing Crafts:
If I ground assault with a landing craft and 1 tactical marine and win the close combat, can the marines consolidate back into the transport and the landing craft disengage off the table at the end of the turn?
In a similar example where the marines do a ground assault but lose the close combat, can they consolidate into the landing craft and the landing craft disengage off the table at the end of that turn?

Thank you.

Author:  Dave [ Fri Sep 05, 2014 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Yes, 1 BM per Deathwind/OB.

No, since Deathwind/OB happen all during the SC's activation you only check to see if formations are broken once everything's been resolved.

A unit can consolidate back on to an AC, but the AC can't disengage when this happens.

Same as before, note that non-fearless AC would be destroyed for loosing the assault.

Author:  Ginger [ Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Dave, I am not sure your responses to #2 is correct. While I agree that consolidating onto an air-transport prevents disengagement, Withdrawal is not a consolidation move so I understood that the air-transport could disengage under these circumstances.

I have seen Deathwind attacks played several ways, and suggest that we need to include the FAQ response to this question in the tournament pack., which does backup your response in a little more detail.

However while I accept the approach outlined, IMO it also makes sense to check for broken formations after the initial space bombardment as well as at the end of the activation (after all units are placed).

Author:  Dave [ Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Ginger wrote:
Dave, I am not sure your responses to #2 is correct. While I agree that consolidating onto an air-transport prevents disengagement, Withdrawal is not a consolidation move so I understood that the air-transport could disengage under these circumstances.


I trying to figure out how we got to withdrawal on to an AC and disengagement... but yes, you can withdrawal on to an AC and it can still disengage. The FAQ is pretty specific:

Quote:
Q: Can a unit that disembarked from a War Engine to take part in an Assault use its consolidation move to get back into the War Engine?

A: Yes it can. However, if it does so then the War Engine loses its own Consolidation move (and War Engine Transport Aircraft may not make a Disengagement move at the end of the turn) as it has to wait around while the troops climb back on board. Note that the War Engine may make a Consolidation move (or a Disengagement move if it is an aircraft) if no troops embark upon it.


Quote:
I have seen Deathwind attacks played several ways, and suggest that we need to include the FAQ response to this question in the tournament pack., which does backup your response in a little more detail.


I don't think they ever made it into the master FAQ, I'll add them into the TP.

Author:  Ginger [ Fri Sep 05, 2014 11:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Dave wrote:
I trying to figure out how we got to withdrawal on to an AC and disengagement... but yes, you can withdrawal on to an AC and it can still disengage.
Sorry, fingers, I meant your response #4. The LC is Fearless thus not destroyed by losing the assault. Here I think the marines may attempt to withdraw onto the LC (and it disengage) providing that in doing so they end up more than 15cm from enemy. This would be possible if the LC landed more than 15 cm from the target and so did not actually take part in the assault - though obviously this would be 'unlikely'.

This can also occur where an air-transport has landed as part of an earlier activation and a broken formation subsequently withdraws onto it as part of a separate activation.

Author:  Paradox [ Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Thank you for the clarifications.

Another quick question regarding blast markers and transport aircrafts.
If an aircraft (thunder hawk) performs a ground assault and drops off a tactical squad to shoot at a target unit, but prior to its (thunderhawk) shooting receives 2 blast markers, it is considered suppressed but the tactical squad can still shoot?

My question is around getting clarification regarding when a transport aircraft does a ground assault and drops off a squad or just lands in order to potentially pick up a squad later in the turn and has enough blast markers to suppress it, is it considered suppressed (as it is now considered a war engine)?

Thanks.

Author:  Dave [ Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

No, ATSKNF means the THawk would need 4BMs to be suppressed. That's impossible as you only take 1 BM for coming under fire while making an approach move (even if you're shot at multiple times). If it didn't have ATSKNF though, and it landed with 2 BMs it would immediately be broken and would not get to fire (and it would also be destroyed if you landed it within 15cm of the enemy). Anything on board could disembark and fire though.

Author:  Ginger [ Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

As the THawk and contents are considered a single formation for the duration of the THawk activation, the answer also depends upon the positioning of the transported units relative to the THawk and the target. If the THawk suffered a hit, the formation would suffer 2x BM which would potentially suppress the rear-most unit(s) - though as Dave says, that could be the THawk leaving the entire formation able to fire.

Author:  Dave [ Sat Sep 06, 2014 2:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Rule Question Regarding Codex Marine Drop Pods

Something I never thought of: the Tacticals having BMs (that still makes me chuckle). As written, I guess the BMs should be pooled. I.e., a Tactical with 2BMs and a THawk with 2BMs has the potential to suppress a THawk or two marines, depending on who's furthest.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/