Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Assaults with Transported units
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=27597
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Runejack [ Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:10 am ]
Post subject:  Assaults with Transported units

I had a query come up in the last game I played that I was hoping to clarify.

I had a mob of boyz with battlewagon transports that wanted to assault a big unit that was roughly between 10 cm and 30 cm away. Now my closest units were no problem for my boyz to get to, but the further ones became quite difficult to reach. I was wondering if the boyz couldn't just use their battlewagons to get closer for the assault? Would I basically be able to declare an engage action, load the boyz in the Battlewagons, drive the battlewagonz such that they are outside the enemy zone of control but with each battlewagon near to a stand of enemy, and then unload the boyz who I thought would get 5cm to assault with? Where was my thinking wrong?

From the rulebook 1.7.5 page 8:
"Transported units may disembark at the end of any move after the move in which is it was picked up. This happens after any overwatch shots (see 1.10) but before the moving formation shoots or assaults. If the formation has engage orders then they may be placed in base contact with an enemy unit.

Thanksfor clarifying!

Joel

Author:  Tiny-Tim [ Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Assaults with Transported units

Unfortunately not.

What you have to remember is that you can only mount or dismount in a single move not both.

Author:  Runejack [ Sat Jun 07, 2014 9:41 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Assaults with Transported units

Tiny-Tim wrote:
Unfortunately not.

What you have to remember is that you can only mount or dismount in a single move not both.


Aha I finally found the phrase that points this out!

Quote:
Transported units may disembark at the end of any move after the move in which is it was picked up.


I think I was misreading this before.

Thank you!

Joel

Author:  lord-bruno [ Mon Jun 09, 2014 3:54 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Assaults with Transported units

Runejack wrote:

From the rulebook 1.7.5 page 8:
"Transported units may disembark at the end of any move after the move in which is it was picked up. This happens after any overwatch shots (see 1.10) but before the moving formation shoots or assaults. If the formation has engage orders then they may be placed in base contact with an enemy unit.


Joel


Disembarking after overwatch?? OMG I have been playing this wrong the whole time!! I though disembarking was part of the movement step and therefore before overwacht fire :(

Author:  Ginger [ Mon Jun 09, 2014 6:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Assaults with Transported units

Basically, for Air transports (and planetfall) OW occurs *after* disembarking, but for Ground transports OW may be either before or after disembarkation. For most races, this can be painfull but not catastrophic as the transports are standard, so only carry two units. But for Orks (and others) in ground based WE transports, OW before disembarkation by a TK (or even MW) weapon can be very 'embarrassing' . . . ;)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/