Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders

 Post subject: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 4:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:44 am
Posts: 4
If a Commander is going to activate several units to engage, how does summoning demons work? Can all the formations summon or just the activating one?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
There is a similar question here.

So the steps are;
1) Declare Action
2) Declare Combined Assault
3) Place Summoned Daemons
4) Roll Action Test

As per 2.1.2 it is the Commander formation that declares the action and if successful, all 'commanded' formations move as a "single" formation. However, if the activation fails, only the Commander formation is deemed to have failed.

Because of this I believe that the Daemons may only be placed near the Commander formation.

Dave and Onyx, I believe this is another for the FAQ list.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:04 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
Bookmarked.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:36 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:44 am
Posts: 4
That is how I read it and though originally, but I was and am confused since the demons are summoned before an activation and if the commander succeeds, the other formations would have activated and should have been able to summon. At least by my logic. It is super gray, and I see both positions making sense.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 2:27 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
The timing of the different steps is subtle, and potentially can be read different ways.

However, the point is that if the activation fails, the other formations are still free to activate and potentially summon daemons in their own right. Placing the 'commander' daemons near these other formations effectively doubles up the daemons summoned, which would be inappropriate.

There is another question which has not been raised AFAIK. :-
Q. Where a formation containing a Commander passes an assault activation, can other formations included by the commander summon their own daemons?

I suggest the answer might be the following, though it certainly raises other issues . . .
A. No, because the summoning of Daemons occurs before the other formations are 'commanded' through the commander passing the activation test.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 8:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
The rule states Daemons are summoned before the formation roll it's activation dice.
6.11.3
Quote:
At the start of that formation’s action, before the action test dice roll is made, the formation may summon daemonic units from the Daemon Pool


In a combined assault only the commanders formation is taking an activation test so only that formation can summon Daemons.
If the other formations where allowed to summon daemons it could lead to silly situations especially if the activation test for the combined assault failed, you could end up with a formation summoning Daemons two or three times in 1 turn.

Quote:
There is another question which has not been raised AFAIK. :-
Q. Where a formation containing a Commander passes an assault activation, can other formations included by the commander summon their own daemons?


No, as with the answer above only the formation taking an activation roll can summon Daemons. Also as the activation roll had already been made it would be to late to roll for Daemons.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 12:57 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Thanks - so we agree then.

The question / difficulty that this raises is that the formations commanded by the successful activation of the commander end up forgoing the chance to summon daemons of their own. So what, if anything, can be done to redress this slight issue?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:16 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Ginger wrote:
The question / difficulty that this raises is that the formations commanded by the successful activation of the commander end up forgoing the chance to summon daemons of their own. So what, if anything, can be done to redress this slight issue?


I cannot see any issue with a formation in that situation not being able to summon daemons. It's the players choice to drag them along and they get any bonus' the extra troops bring (inspiring, outnumbering, extra attacks possibly better armour saves and so forth).
If players want their formations to have more daemons when assaulting they can take Icon Bearers and keep daemons summoned from previous turns for the combined assaults.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:44 am
Posts: 4
Why not allow them to summon them, but only allow on summoning a turn? Chaos has commanders in almost every formation, so to use them effectively, you would at times have to sacrifice the ability to summon demons which a chaos player has to pay for. Therefore you lose one of the things that makes Chaos unique and suffer for having units off the table.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
dptdexys wrote:
Ginger wrote:
The question / difficulty that this raises is that the formations commanded by the successful activation of the commander end up forgoing the chance to summon daemons of their own. So what, if anything, can be done to redress this slight issue?

I cannot see any issue with a formation in that situation not being able to summon daemons. It's the players choice to drag them along and they get any bonus' the extra troops bring (inspiring, outnumbering, extra attacks possibly better armour saves and so forth).
If players want their formations to have more daemons when assaulting they can take Icon Bearers and keep daemons summoned from previous turns for the combined assaults.

Agreed, though as NoTurtlesAllowed just posted, using commander to include other formations means that the chaos player is unable to summon daemons for those formations in the turn they assault - thus potentially being prevented from using the stuff he has paid for.

Yes, it is a choice (command more units from other formations, or assault separately and boost numbers with Daemons), and equally the player may have set up the army accordingly (icon bearers, daemon pool etc) to cater for this situation in the way you describe.

However the rules as they stand here are a little awkward in that once a combined assault is completed, the other formations remain naked of daemons until the following turn, which obviously can be a significant disadvantage, unless the player has been able to retain daemons from earlier. This is obviously impossible on turn #1, and may be impractical in other turns / formations.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:17 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
I see this as dptdexys has outlined above and I don't really see a need for change here.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: rules question: Summoning demons and Commanders
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I agree Onyx, as I said here when raising the question as a suggestion for the FAQ list. Just thought it might be worth discussing the ramifications in case there were any dissenting views or alternatives. . . . .

. . . . . "Moving on" as they say (whoever "They" are) ;)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net