Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Daemons and Commander?

 Post subject: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:06 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9534
Location: Worcester, MA
Can you summon, place the daemons so that the formation is intermingled with other friendlies, and then engage taking the friendlies into the assault with you with Commander?

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:30 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
After re-reading the summoning rules, I'd say no.

The relevant rules:
Quote:
At the start of that formation’s action, before the action test dice roll is made, the formation may summon daemonic units from the Daemon Pool.
Quote:
Summoned units count as part of the formation for all rules purposes as long as they remain on the battlefield.


The relevant FAQ:
Quote:
Q:At which point in activating a formation is the decision to summon daemons made? Can I summon daemons and then declare which action a formation will make?
A:The decision to summon daemons is made between Step II of activating a formation (declare which action it will carry out) and Step III (the formation must then pass an action test to see if it carries out the action successfully). So you must declare the action before you summon daemons.


The declaration of the formation's action happens before the summoning.
Before the summoning happens, there wouldn't be any friendly formations within 5cm to be able to use the Commander ability with.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:52 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9534
Location: Worcester, MA
The declaration of a combined assault is before the action test though, that's more of what I was getting at.

I don't think it's clear either way, it can be either:

1) Declare Action
2) Declare Combined Assault
3) Place Summoned Daemons
4) Roll Action Test

or

1) Declare Action
2) Place Summoned Daemons
3) Declare Combined Assault
4) Roll Action Test

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:03 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 4311
We have always played declare action-summon daemons- roll action test

_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk
NetEA NetERC Human Lists Chair
NetEA Chaos + Black Legion Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:04 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
The wording from the Commander special rule:
Quote:
Commanders can order up to three formations of troops to follow them when they make an assault, as long as all the formations have at least one unit within 5cm of a unit from the commander’s formation.
So with this and the FAQ in mind, at the moment of calling an Engagement, there would be no friendly units within 5cm of the Commander's formation so a combined engagement could not be called.

I have played with summoned daemons a bit when I was using the Red Corsairs list but I can't remember this situation ever popping up. :-\

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:35 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
A good question Dave. While the timing of placing Daemons is relatively clear, to my mind the question is at what point you declare the "combined" assault.

AFAIK this is part of the activation declaration (your 1st alternative), so I agree with Onyx that the Daemons do not yet exist to bridge the gap between formations.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:11 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9534
Location: Worcester, MA
Worth a new FAQ I think.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:24 pm
Posts: 9658
Location: Manalapan, FL
agreed

_________________
He's a lawyer and a super-villian. That's like having a shark with a bazooka!

-I HAVE NO POINT
-Penal Legion-Fan list
-Help me make Whitescars not suck!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2013 10:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Seems we are all agreeing . . .

Would the following wording work for the FAQ:-
    Q. Can Daemons be summoned and then be used by a commander to order nearby formations to join in a combined assault?
    A. No. Daemons are summoned after the activation is declared but before the activation dice is rolled. The combined assault is assessed when the assault is declared and the Daemons have not been summoned at that point, so cannot be used to bridge the gap to nearby friendly formations.
    However, once on the table, Daemons are part of the formation so can be used for intermingling and commander purposes


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Daemons and Commander?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
I asked the very same question a few years ago and it was confirmed, by the rules comittee, that combined assaults have to be declared before summoning of Daemons.
I even got a praise from Tiny Tim for coming up with an idea even he hadn't thought of for the use of Daemons, high praise indeed ;D .


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net