Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

WE transports under assault
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=23870
Page 1 of 1

Author:  LordotMilk [ Sat Sep 08, 2012 11:25 pm ]
Post subject:  WE transports under assault

Just checking if we are playing this right:

A plague tower carrying unbroken cultists is assaulted by vicious ultramarine tacticals with their supporting Rhinos. The Ultras chose not to use the Intermingled formations rule to avoid the cultists.

The Ultras move partly in BtB and partly remain at FF range.

The Plague Tower is allowed a countercharge move, at the end of which it it can dismount its load of cultists, spoiling the Ultra plan. As the RAW allow for dismounting troops of an WE to partake in an assault it is part of, they can enter enemy ZoC to get into contact, and then unload the rest at FF distance.

The Assault is then resolved normally, the Plaguetower and Cultists counting as a single formation during the assault.

Correct?

Variant:

The same scenario occurs, except this time there is a devastator detachment on OW in range to support the Tactical's assault.

After the countercharge move of the Plaguetower and cultists, the Devs get to resolve their OW shooting, even if the cultists do not dismount and the Plaguetower does not move, and support fire during the assault.

Correct?

Thanks for the answer!

Author:  Ginger [ Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE transports under assault

Correct. The troops and WE are a single formation for the purposes of the assault.
Note, troops inside a WE transport count as part of the transport formation (even if they have not dismounted), so add any BMs, Inspiring characters etc as part of the assault resolution.

However, the Devastators do not get to use their OW at a countercharging formation. OW is only triggered by normal moves (including assaults and dismounting).

Author:  LordotMilk [ Sun Sep 09, 2012 1:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE transports under assault

So no OW even if the cultists dismount in the countercharge move?

Thats where the rules are in conflict, aka they specifically mention OW possible after troop unloading, but they also say that OW is to be resolved before countercharge moves.

Author:  LordotMilk [ Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE transports under assault

answer anyone?

Author:  Onyx [ Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:28 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE transports under assault

As per the FAQ in the 2012 NetEA Tournament Pack:
Quote:
Q:Does a counter-charge trigger Overwatch?

A:No. The “move” referred to in the OW rule refers to moves made as part of an action, as described in section 1.7.


The Devastators would be able to OW if the Plague Tower was initiating the engagement and that would use the following rules:
Quote:
Q:When can I fire OW? As I understand that I can choose to shoot:
1)before my opponent unloads troops,
2)after my opponent unloads troops and before he shoots or assault
3)after my opponent unloads troops and after he shoots or assault

A:After your opponent completes a move OR after disembarking troops, but before he does anything else, including shooting. So option 1 and option 2 but not option 3.


Also remeber that:
Quote:
Enemy formations on overwatch can shoot at formations making withdrawal moves.

Author:  nealhunt [ Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE transports under assault

LordotMilk wrote:
A plague tower carrying unbroken cultists is assaulted by vicious ultramarine tacticals with their supporting Rhinos. The Ultras chose not to use the Intermingled formations rule to avoid the cultists.

Just to be clear, declaring them to not be intermingled is not an option. A WE transport in an assault and any loaded troops are considered part of the same formation for the duration of the assault regardless of the attacker's or defender's wishes. It's automatic.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/