Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Claiming objectives http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=22296 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Reedar [ Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:45 pm ] |
Post subject: | Claiming objectives |
Rules query which came out of a recent game with Nat; Can broken formations contest (not claim) objectives? The rule book says no, but I could have sworn someone told me that they could. Cheers Reedar |
Author: | Spectrar Ghost [ Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
Nope. Only unbroken formations may claim or contet objectives. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:14 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
No, and they can do neither in the end phase when they rally either. Can count as unbroken in the enemy half though. |
Author: | Reedar [ Sat Jan 14, 2012 8:48 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
Perfect, thanks guys |
Author: | AgeingHippy [ Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:43 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
Mephiston wrote: No, and they can do neither in the end phase when they rally either. Can count as unbroken in the enemy half though. Hey Mephiston. Are you saying the game is checked for win or loose BEFORE the end phase of a turn? I thought the game was checked for a winner at the end of a turn (3 onwards) and the end phase is part of a turn therefore I would expect a formation that has rallied in the end phase could alter the result of a game?? |
Author: | Tiny-Tim [ Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:55 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
AgeingHippy wrote: I thought the game was checked for a winner at the end of a turn (3 onwards) and the end phase is part of a turn therefore I would expect a formation that has rallied in the end phase could alter the result of a game?? No rallied formations can only count toward having forces in your opponents half & can not claim/contest objectives. Something which I tend to forget with regularity. |
Author: | Mephiston [ Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:26 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
Here is the relevant parts from section 6.1.4 (my bold for emphasis) Quote: You capture an objective if you have a unit within 15cms of it in the end phase and your opponent does not. An objective is contested if both sides have a unit within 15cms of it in the end phase. Units from broken formations or from formations that have rallied that end phase can not capture or contest objectives. Check at the end of each turn to see how many objectives you control. Objectives do not have a ‘memory’ and you will lose control of any you have captured if there are no friendly units within 15cms of them at the end of any subsequent turn. So technically you check at the end or every turn, but you can't win until 3 turns have been played so most only start checking then. Of course it's a good idea to have a mental count in your head at the start of turn 3 as to how you're doing and what you want to achieve ![]() |
Author: | zombocom [ Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Claiming objectives |
Basically, the point is the difference between Objectives and Victory Conditions; formations that have just rallied specifically cannot contest or claim Objectives, but are not banned from achieving Victory Conditions. As the only VC that can be achieved by a formation directly is to deny Hold The Line, they are able to do this. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |