Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=21579
Page 1 of 1

Author:  AgeingHippy [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:13 am ]
Post subject:  WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

Hello All

It seems to me that for 99.9% of the game the Damage Capacity ot a WE counts as the number of units...Name any situation (but 1) and a DC3 WE with no damage counts as 3 units....Units for Orks in rally, no of units in assault resolution, no of units that can go base-to-base, no of units when determining if the formation is broken, Number of units when placing blast templates etc etc.

There seems to be 1 area where this does not work (unless understanding is screwy) and tah is in barrages. The WE generates only 1 to hit roll, whereas I think it should generate it's (undamaged) DC.

Can anyone clarify for me? It just seems wron that a WE DC counts as units for placing of the blast template but then not for hits...

Author:  Jaggedtoothgrin [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

in barrages, a war engine counts as a single unit (for both number of hits inflicted, and for number of units under template to ensure maximum within formation) however if the centre hole is touching the engine, it instead counts as half its DC (in both hits, and units under template)
does that help?

Author:  AgeingHippy [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

It certainly does help - thanks JTG :)

It balances it out for both cases....

Do you know where in the rules book that it states this?

Author:  Mephiston [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

Its in the 3rd paragraph of section 3.2.1 on page 43

Quote:
Special rules apply to war engines that are attacked by
weapons that use templates (see 1.9.8). Normally these
weapons attack each unit that falls under the template
once each. However, due to its huge size if a war engine
lies directly under the centre of a template, then it is
subjected to a number of attacks equal to half its starting
damage capacity, rounding fractions up. For example, a
Baneblade (DC3) caught under the centre of a template
would be attacked twice. You may wish to make sure that
your barrage templates have a small hole in the centre so
that you can see if a war engine suffers the full effect of
the bombardment or is only attacked once.

Author:  AgeingHippy [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

Thanks Mephiston. Thats great. Now I just need to find the section about how many units it counts for when placing the template.

Author:  zombocom [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 12:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

AgeingHippy wrote:
Thanks Mephiston. Thats great. Now I just need to find the section about how many units it counts for when placing the template.


There is no such section, so assume it counts as the number of attacks you'd get.

Author:  Mephiston [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

It doesn't. If the template is centered you get half DC (rounded up) attacks, or one if it isn't centered.

Author:  zombocom [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

I think he means in terms of placement of the template, i.e. the requirement to place it over as many units as possible. There's no guidelines for how many units WE count as in this circumstance, so I'd assume that you should maximise the maximum number of attacks.

Author:  AgeingHippy [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

Hi Guys

I guess the first question is how 'authoritive' is the FAQ found at epic FAQ

I have found a number of FAQ answers that do no agree with my interpritation of the rules. Nevermind, I found the following in the FAQ.

Quote:
3.2.1 Allocating Hits to War Engines
Q: When placing a barrage template
on a formation that contains War
Engine(s) and other units does the
War Engine count as a single unit or
do you count its starting DC when
determining if you have the most units
under a template as per 1.9.8? For
example: a formation with a
Baneblade (DC 3) a 10 Imperial Guard
Infantry in it is attacked by a barrage
that has a single template. If the
template is placed over the Baneblade
does it count as one unit or three units
(from its starting DC of 3)?
A: The WE should count it's DC when
working out where to place barrage
templates. So in the example the
Baneblade would count as three ‘units’ to
determine the placement of the barrage
template

Author:  Mephiston [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

It's authoritative.

Having said that I've never played it like that! When looking to maximize I've always considered the number of attacks the template would generate rather than starting DC when maximizing in a mixed formation.

Author:  AgeingHippy [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

Yes Mephiston

I do think the way you say you play it is a fairer way IMO.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 3:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

I've generally gone for maximising the number of possible hits, rather than maximising the DC affected, but I can see the logic in the rule and I guess I'll start playing it the way the FAQ says from now on. Though it only rarely comes up TBH.

Author:  BlackLegion [ Mon Oct 17, 2011 10:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: WE, Damage Capacity and Barrages...??

The other place where a WE isn`t DC = units is when you work out victory points in the Tournament Scenario.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/