Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Some questions
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=21056
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Plastic Rat [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Some questions

Aight, I'll keep it quick. If you can offer an answer please, please tell me where to look so I can find the rule myself. I've tried to find explanations of these and come up dry, so now I'm bothering you fine people.

1) Suppression and units in transports.
Do units inside transport vehicles count for units that are suppressed from blast markers?

E.g. I have 1 razorback and 1 stand of tactical marines left from my tactical detachment. The formation has 2 blast markers. Therefore one of the units will be suppressed and one can fire. If the marines enter the razorback, can I choose them to be the ones who are suppressed and the razorback gets to fire?

2) Warhound titans and detachments.
I can buy warhound titans in groups of 1 to 2. If I buy more than 1 are they counted as being in the same unit/detachment? Can I buy 2 separately? Do most people split them up or keep them together if the option is there?

3) Transport Warmachine Aircraft and passengers
(a few questions here)
a) If a Thunderhawk carrying a formation lands can the passengers disembark and fire on the same activation?
b) If said Thunderhawk has been hit by AA fire on its way in and accumulated blast markers, I assume the blast markers do not apply to passengers when they disembark, since they're not actually part of the same detachment as the Thunderhawk? (just need to make sure)
c) Can the Thunderhawk change its facing when it lands or is it limited to the same direction it is facing after the final turn of its approach move?
d) What action must my Thunderhawk take if it is going to land and drop off passengers? Ground attack?
e) If I want to pick up passengers and move somewhere else with my Thunderhawk, do I have to leave the board first with them, or can I take off and either hang around or land again?

That's it for now, thanks in advance for any replies.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

1 - Units inside of transports do not count for suppression unless the unit has a rule or note that allows the unit to fire when embarked upon the transport (Razorbacks do not).

2 - You can buy 2 that act as 2 separate formations. Most people prefer to split them up.

3 -
a - Yes
b- BM's are given to the Thunderhawk. However unit the end of any engagement or shooting action, the BM's count for suppression across the entire formation.
c- As long as you move at least 30cm in a straight line prior to landing, you can turn at the end of your approach move.
d- Ground Attack.
e- You have to leave the board first.

Elaboration on e:
In general there are only two movement types for planes, flying onto the board, and disengagement off the board.
So there's no way of using your disengagement move to land somewhere else on the board, I'm afraid.

Author:  Plastic Rat [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Evil and Chaos wrote:
b- BM's are given to the Thunderhawk. However unit the end of any engagement or shooting action, the BM's count for suppression across the entire formation.


Awesome, thanks E&C that's great. I just don't understand the above answer. Are units the T-hawk is transporting classified as part of its formation when they've disembarked?

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Plastic Rat wrote:
Evil and Chaos wrote:
b- BM's are given to the Thunderhawk. However unit the end of any engagement or shooting action, the BM's count for suppression across the entire formation.


Awesome, thanks E&C that's great. I just don't understand the above answer. Are units the T-hawk is transporting classified as part of its formation when they've disembarked?

The units transported by the Thunderhawk are considered to be part of its formation until after they have landed and shot, or landed and engaged in an assault.

This matters for suppression, if the formation lands and shoots, and it also matters if the enemy wants to use Overwatch on you.

Author:  Morgan Vening [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Plastic Rat wrote:
Aight, I'll keep it quick. If you can offer an answer please, please tell me where to look so I can find the rule myself. I've tried to find explanations of these and come up dry, so now I'm bothering you fine people.

1) Suppression and units in transports.
Do units inside transport vehicles count for units that are suppressed from blast markers?

E.g. I have 1 razorback and 1 stand of tactical marines left from my tactical detachment. The formation has 2 blast markers. Therefore one of the units will be suppressed and one can fire. If the marines enter the razorback, can I choose them to be the ones who are suppressed and the razorback gets to fire?

No, they can't (with caveat).

From 1.9.2, Suppression.
"One unit that has a line of fire and is within range may not shoot for each Blast marker on the formation. "

From 1.7.5, Transport Vehicles
"Units being transported may not shoot unless the transport vehicle’s datasheet specifically says otherwise."

So while it doesn't explicitly state that a unit in a transport vehicle can't be chosen for suppression, it can be inferred by the requirement that the unit is required to have Line of Fire, unless you really want to twist the rules (because I can find no passage that says a unit in a vehicle has no Line of Fire, just that they can't shoot).

I don't know of anyone who'd play it that way (allowing transported to count), but I don't think there's a definitive rule. The rulebook has several weird wording conventions.

Plastic Rat wrote:
2) Warhound titans and detachments.
I can buy warhound titans in groups of 1 to 2. If I buy more than 1 are they counted as being in the same unit/detachment? Can I buy 2 separately? Do most people split them up or keep them together if the option is there?

Each detachment bought, is an activation. If you buy a single Warhound, that's one activation. If you buy a second Warhound, that's another activation. If you instead choose to buy a pair of Warhounds for a detachment, they're a single activation. It was the versatility of single warhounds purchased in multiples, that made most lists put a price premium on single Warhounds.

Plastic Rat wrote:
3) Transport Warmachine Aircraft and passengers
(a few questions here)
a) If a Thunderhawk carrying a formation lands can the passengers disembark and fire on the same activation?
b) If said Thunderhawk has been hit by AA fire on its way in and accumulated blast markers, I assume the blast markers do not apply to passengers when they disembark, since they're not actually part of the same detachment as the Thunderhawk? (just need to make sure)
c) Can the Thunderhawk change its facing when it lands or is it limited to the same direction it is facing after the final turn of its approach move?
d) What action must my Thunderhawk take if it is going to land and drop off passengers? Ground attack?
e) If I want to pick up passengers and move somewhere else with my Thunderhawk, do I have to leave the board first with them, or can I take off and either hang around or land again?

That's it for now, thanks in advance for any replies.

a) Yes. Section 4.2.5 Landing, explicitly allows it.
b) Incorrect. Section 3.1.3 Transport War Engines. "..the war engine and the transported units are treated as a
single formation until the shooting attack or assault has been resolved.". If it's not more than 3BM's (due to ATSKNF), this can be avoided by making sure that the Thunderhawk is the furthest model, and so none of the combined shooting is suppressed.
c) Same direction. Section 4.2.5 Landing "Once landed, the aircraft is treated in all ways as a ground unit with a speed of 0 (ie, it may not move)", combined with Section 1.7 Movement "They may turn freely as they move." doesn't allow the Thunderhawk to do anything once it's stopped flying.
d) Yes. Section 4.2.5 "An aircraft must carry out a ground attack action in order to transport units."
e) You must depart the board first. A Thunderhawk can only activate once. If it flys on and lands, it can only disengage that turn. If it's landed from a previous turn, it's immobile, and can only disengage that turn (all covered in 4.2.5-6). Besides which, Section 3.1.3 doesn't allow a formation to be embarked and disembarked in the same turn, by the same war engine.

Morgan Vening

Author:  Plastic Rat [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Thanks so much guys. This has given me a much clearer understanding of the rules and I think I see the philosophy behind them. Cheers.

Author:  nealhunt [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Morgan: Even though the formation is technically combined during the course of the action, once the action is completed, the formations split and the BMs have to belong to one formation or the other. Anything accumulated from AA fire should stay with the aircraft.

Author:  Plastic Rat [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Just thought of something.

If my thunderhawk has two blast markers (enough to suppress one space marine unit) and it's at the back of the formation after landing, is it suppressed as a unit, i.e. it can't fire ANY of its weapons, or does it suppress ONE of its weapons?

EDIT: Ok I think I figured this one out. War Engines can't really be suppressed, only broken. It takes a number of blast markers equal to their Damage Capacity to suppress them (Which would cause them to be broken as well). So uh.. basically my T-hawk has a DC of 2, the formation would have to have 4 blast markers before the T-hawk could not shoot (assuming it was at the rear of the formation).

Is this correct?

Author:  Mephiston [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

It is not suppressed as it still benefits from ATSKNF and requires 4 BM to be suppressed. As BM's are assessed back to front within the formation all the units, including the T'hawk, can fire with all their weapons.

You can't be partially suppressed.

Author:  nealhunt [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 6:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

Plastic Rat wrote:
EDIT: Ok I think I figured this one out. War Engines can't really be suppressed, only broken. It takes a number of blast markers equal to their Damage Capacity to suppress them (Which would cause them to be broken as well)...

Close. An independent WE cannot be suppressed.

If it is part of a formation, you suppress from back to front. If the WE is in back it may be suppressed before the formation as a whole breaks. If you had a Baneblade company with 3 BMs, the rear tank would be suppressed while the others were fine.

Quote:
So uh.. basically my T-hawk has a DC of 2, the formation would have to have 4 blast markers before the T-hawk could not shoot (assuming it was at the rear of the formation).

Yes.

Author:  Morgan Vening [ Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Some questions

nealhunt wrote:
Morgan: Even though the formation is technically combined during the course of the action, once the action is completed, the formations split and the BMs have to belong to one formation or the other. Anything accumulated from AA fire should stay with the aircraft.

Oh, absolutely. I should have been clearer. I just meant that if the Thunderhawk has 3BM's, it won't affect the combined firepower of the carried formations, as long as it's positioned to the rear. Trying to combine a strategy statement with a rules statement can usually be problematic.

Morgan Vening

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/