Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Countercharging countercharges
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20994
Page 1 of 3

Author:  Lsrwolf [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:42 am ]
Post subject:  Countercharging countercharges

A countercharging unit can charge the nearest enemy unit even if it was not the unit that performed the engage action.

1) Must the countercharging unit actually get a unit in base to base to pull them into the combat or is getting within 15cm firefight range sufficient?

2) If a countercharging unit charges the nearest supporting unit and pulls it into the combat, can that unit now countercharge in response?

3) If a countercharging unit charges the nearest supporting unit and pulls it into the combat, and that supporting unit is onboard transport vehicles, can the riders get out to fight?

Author:  Spectrar Ghost [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

1) It must BtB, otherwise it's just supporting fire.

2) No. One countercharge per combat.

3) No. Disembarks occur as part of a movement, including countercharges. No counter-countercharge, no disembark.

Author:  Dave [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

On 2), they can SG. Any formation dragged into a combat gets to counter-charge. Same, goes with 3), you can disembark as part of a counter-charge (we don't let the transport counter-charge in this instance though). But if there's 2 enemy units on a transport vehicle (or 2 per starting DC for a WE) whatever is being transported can't disembark, it's locked inside.

You can also use your consolidation move to get back in the transport, so long as the transport doesn't move again. The one exception to this is a flyer that has landed. A unit that engaged out of a flyer that landed can't consolidate back into that flyer. The reason for that is to prevent the assault, embark, disengaged, repeat the next turn combo. Another unit could consolidate into that flyer though by the letter of the rule, if not the intent. :P

Author:  Jaggedtoothgrin [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

actually dave, a formation definitely can reembark into a flying transport, however, as a war engine, if it does so, the aircraft then cannot disengage that turn.

Author:  Dave [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

Ya, my mistake. You can reembark with a formation that disembarked out of a flyer transport, if you do this though the flyer can't disengage.

Quote:
Q: Can a unit that disembarked from a War Engine to take part in an Assault use its consolidation move to get back into the War Engine?
A: Yes it can. However, if it does so then the War Engine loses its own Consolidation move (and War Engine Transport Aircraft may not make a Disengagement move at the end of the turn) as it has to wait around while the troops climb back on board. Note that the War Engine may make a Consolidation move (or a Disengagement move if it is an aircraft) if no troops embark upon it.


That's a restriction just on the disembarking formation though. Another formation can embark as part of a consolidation move and the flyer can still disengage, or if the flyer wasn't in the assault stuff can still consolidate onto it:

viewtopic.php?p=343988#p343988

Like I said, by the letter if not the intent.

Author:  Ginger [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

I believe SG is correct here.

The attacker makes the assault move, and the Defender makes a counter-charge - and that is it.
If the Defender's counter-charge drags some other formation into the assault it may *not* react to this, so may not countercharge, disembark etc

Author:  Mephiston [ Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

The dragged in formation and the original assaulter are now one formation until the end of the assault. As such it's already had its charge so won't get a counter charge.

Or at least that is what my look through the book and FAQ's would suggest, I've not searched for any clarifications that may be on here.

Author:  Lsrwolf [ Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

So the consensus is:
1) BTB
2) No
3) No

?

Author:  Dave [ Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

Base, no, yes.

Author:  Mephiston [ Sat Jul 09, 2011 3:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

I think its Base, No, No.

Now if the combat goes to a second round all units get a counter charge so then troops could disembark.

Author:  Spectrar Ghost [ Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

Provided they aren't blocked in. (2 stands in BtB per DC)

Author:  Dave [ Sun Jul 10, 2011 12:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

Right, we're talking about a unit that got dragged in that was in a transport. Not one that was originally part of assault. No counter-charge equals no dismount.

Author:  Lsrwolf [ Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

MUST a countercharging unit charge the NEAREST enemy unit or can it choose to countercharge the formation that assaulted it? What choices does a unit have on whom to countercharge?

Author:  Spectrar Ghost [ Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

You may only countercharge directly towards the nearest enemy unit. The only choice is how far to move.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Sun Jul 10, 2011 8:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Countercharging countercharges

Quote:
The only choice is how far to move.

Unless you are in a ZoC, in which case you must attempt to reach b2b at maximum speed.

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/