Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

barrage on intermingled formations
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=19630
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Dave [ Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:24 pm ]
Post subject:  barrage on intermingled formations

Alright, let's say 4BP is fired on a formation containing a single Monolith (light gray square) which happens to have some Necron Warriors very close to it (dark gray rectangle). Since the target formation only has one unit in it, maximizing the first template is easy, but do any of the template placing guidelines apply when placing the template over the second formation?

Specifically, I'm asking if you have to do this:
Attachment:
1.png
1.png [ 2.97 KiB | Viewed 1012 times ]


Or, can the attacker get away with this and get the Lord under the template as well:
Attachment:
2.png
2.png [ 2.96 KiB | Viewed 1012 times ]


Rules as written, I'd say the second is legal, but I can see where it doesn't jibe with the intent of the barrage placement rules.

Also, for space ship barrages, the attacker can choose to put the second template wherever they like so long as its touching the first, correct?

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: barrage on intermingled formations

I would say the first one is more within the spirit of the rules.

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: barrage on intermingled formations

Yes and yes I would have thought. The second is done a fair bit - it might be a bit different if the WE was DC3 or more.

Author:  nealhunt [ Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: barrage on intermingled formations

Dave wrote:
Rules as written, I'd say the second is legal, but I can see where it doesn't jibe with the intent of the barrage placement rules.

Yep. Perfectly legal. Personally, I would have no problem with an opponent doing that.

Incidentally, even if they chose to target the infantry, the "most targets under the barrage" would still let the second placement be legal, for the exact same effect.

Quote:
Also, for space ship barrages, the attacker can choose to put the second template wherever they like so long as its touching the first, correct?

Correct. For a normal barrage, there is a target formation and additional templates should try to keep the max number of the target formation under the barrage. However, spacecraft have no target, just the plot, and are free to place additional templates as desired.

Author:  Dave [ Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: barrage on intermingled formations

nealhunt wrote:
Incidentally, even if they chose to target the infantry, the "most targets under the barrage" would still let the second placement be legal, for the exact same effect.


Ya, it would. In this instance though the Barrage was from some Chaos Fighter-bombers and Chris has some extra AT shots he wanted on the Monolith.

Thanks guys.

Author:  SgtBalicki [ Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: barrage on intermingled formations

As The_Real_Chris says, if the original target were to be a WE with multiple DC (for this argument 3 DC or more, 2 would not work as it would then be legal) would the template not have to be placed with the center hole over the WE so as to yield 2 (or greater) shots at it?

Author:  nealhunt [ Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: barrage on intermingled formations

That's the way I'd play it as well.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/