Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Intermingled question http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=19426 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:07 am ] |
Post subject: | Intermingled question |
This passage is written in the updated GW rules in the intermingled section. If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them. The way this reads to me is that you have to have 2 formations (not just one) within 5cm of the target formation to actually be able to intermingle. Shouldn't it read "two formations within 5cm of each other" instead? How I've always understood it you could intermingle assault if there's 1 other formation within 5cm. Can someone please correct or clear this up for me? Thanks all. |
Author: | Angel_of_Caliban [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:17 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
Always thought it was if another formation(Or More) was within 5cm of the Target formation then you can declare intermingled. |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:29 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
Agreed, but RAW seem otherwise here |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:10 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
You have to read all the 1.12.10 rule for working out what constitutes intermingling. I have underlined the part that shows what constitutes intermingling. Quote: Occasionally an attacker will wish to attack a position where units from two enemy formations are intermingled together. When a player declares the target for a charging formation he can choose, if he wishes, to include any enemy formations that are intermingled with the target formation as being part of the target of the charge. Two formations are intermingled if they have any units within 5cm of each other. If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them. The section quoted earlier Quote: If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them. Is there to show players that if they want to intermingle formations it's not an all or nothing situation, they can choose which formations to add in or leave out of the assault. As far as I can remember it was included to stop rules lawyers trying to force opponents to have to include all potentially intermingled formations if they claimed any at all. |
Author: | Dobbsy [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:24 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
Ahh ok I missed that sentence. Thanks 'dexys. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
Still RAW it says that you can only declare intermingled if there are 2 formations within 5cm of the targeted formation. You don`t have to attack both additional formations too but you can declare one or both of the additional formations as intermingled. |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 12:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
BlackLegion wrote: Still RAW it says that you can only declare intermingled if there are 2 formations within 5cm of the targeted formation. No it doesn't; Read dptdexys's explanation. Dobbsy took a quote out of context, is all. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 4:46 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
AH ok. I understand now. But there seems to be no limit about how many formations you can declare intermingled? |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
BlackLegion wrote: AH ok. I understand now. But there seems to be no limit about how many formations you can declare intermingled? There is no limit, any number of enemy formations can be intermingled for an assault but to be included they have to be within 5cm of the target formation. As an example, pick an enemy formation to be assaulted and you are allowed to intermingle any other enemy formation (no limit to numbers)that has a unit within 5cm of them. Quote: Occasionally an attacker will wish to attack a position where units from two enemy formations are intermingled
together. When a player declares the target for a charging formation he can choose, if he wishes, to include any enemy formations that are intermingled with the target formation as being part of the target of the charge. Two formations are intermingled if they have any units within 5cm of each other. If there are two or more formations within 5cm of the target formation, then the attacker can choose to include one or more of them as the target, he does not though have to include any of them. |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:18 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
dptdexys wrote: BlackLegion wrote: AH ok. I understand now. But there seems to be no limit about how many formations you can declare intermingled? There is no limit, any number of enemy formations can be intermingled for an assault but to be included they have to be within 5cm of the target formation. As an example, pick an enemy formation to be assaulted and you are allowed to intermingle any other enemy formation (no limit to numbers)that has a unit within 5cm of them. It's how I was able to win a game in ten minutes. My opponent deployed with one Scout formation threaded throughout almost his entire army. I asked him to reconsider, explaining why the odds were about 50/50 of me breaking his army. He told me to stuff it. I placed my Chaos Terminators in charge range, on one flank. We diced for initiative. He spent five minutes laughing and (paraphrased) saying "Oooh, you're gonna break my whole army, are you?" He activated his artillery. Failed. Rerolled. Failed. I charged with the Chaos Terminators, intermingling all but two formations (one out of 5cm, one with an Inspiring Character I didn't want to include). I won the engagement, wiping out one formation, crippling another, and breaking six more. He wanted to restart at that point. I only spent five minutes being a dick to him about it. ![]() Morgan Vening |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Sat Oct 16, 2010 11:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
One mate of mine is still annoyed about "Rug" from the forums here intermingling him at a tournament, and it's been something like 3 years since they played that game. Intermingling's funny. :-) |
Author: | dptdexys [ Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:45 am ] |
Post subject: | Re: Intermingled question |
Almost all players learn very quickly the down sides of unintentionally intermigling their formations. It's very,very rare players get caught out after the first couple of times of being on the recieving end. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |