Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16388 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | vytzka [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 3:34 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
[Can't find anything in the FAQ about this, sorry if it's been discussed already] So Disrupt rule says that instead of each kill inflicted, a formation gets a blast marker for each hit. Titan Killer (X) weapons where X is not equal to 1 often give the target multiple points of damage with each hit. Imagine that an Eldar Warlock titan shoots at an unshielded Reaver battle titan with the psychic lance thingamabob (which has both Disrupt and Titan Killer (D3)) and gets one hit which turns into three points of damage. How many blast markers does the Reaver titan receive? Two (one for shooting plus one for Disrupt hit) or four? RAW suggests two but the spirit of the rules as far as I understand them could go with either way (and went with four in my last game in this very situation, giving the benefit in an ambiguous situation to my opponent). |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:01 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
Four. You'd have to get very rules-lawyery to claim only 2 blast markers IMHO. |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:28 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
And unless you shoot at targets with an Invulnerable Save ther Disrupt on Titankiller weapons is pretty much pointless ![]() |
Author: | vytzka [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
Yeah, well the utility of that combo was a bit suspect to me as well, but we just used it as it was printed *shrug* |
Author: | Chroma [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:42 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
Quote: (BlackLegion @ 09 Aug. 2009, 16:28 ) And unless you shoot at targets with an Invulnerable Save ther Disrupt on Titankiller weapons is pretty much pointless  ![]() It's also useful against Necrons with Living Metal... but that's about it. |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
What about a SHT company. Hit one with 1dc left for say 6TK disrupt hits - is that 2 bms or 7? |
Author: | Ginger [ Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:47 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
Well while I agree with the generous sentiment and I may be wrong, I think that you may be confusing 'hits' with 'damage'. Each TK hit only turns into multiple damage when inflicted on a WE (under 3.2.5). So following RAW, IMO technically you would only get 1 'disrupt' BM for a TK weapon hit that is not deflected by shields irrespective of the actual damage it caused. However, you obviously get a BM for each damage caused under the usual rules. However as BL says, disrupt is effectively pointless because TK damage cannot be saved by armour while shielded damage does not cause BMs (see FAQ). The only time it would have effect is where an Invulnerable character saves the TK hit. If I am correct, TRC's example is wrong as the excess TK hits would not additional disruption to the formation. |
Author: | Onyx [ Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:39 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
Quote: (Ginger @ 10 Aug. 2009, 01:47 ) However as BL says, disrupt is effectively pointless because TK damage cannot be saved by armour while shielded damage does not cause BMs (see FAQ). The only time it would have effect is where an Invulnerable character saves the TK hit. Thanks for the heads up on the FAQ Shield/Disrupt thing Ginger. I've wondered about that and must've missed it in the FAQ previously ![]() Just for clarity of the situation, whats the concensus on this situation with regard to hitting a Tau unit protected by a Deflector Shield? Some damage can leak through a Deflector Shield. Does it take a BM for being shot at, for the total number of hits scored or the total damage getting thru the shield? |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:38 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules question - Disrupt/Titan Killer |
Same as with an Invulnerable Save. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |