Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Clarification - Infiltrator http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16137 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:42 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - Infiltrator |
In yesterday's game, I had two squad of Aspirants (Knightworld Roughriders) just over 5cm from two enemy Land Raider units. He chose to engage, noting my 20cm move, coupled with my FF6+ Save6+ vs his FF4+ Save 4+RA. It only now occured to me that it's possible to interpret Infiltrate to matter in this instance. From Infiltrate These are allowed to double their speed when they make a charge move (and only when they charge!),and they can also ignore enemy zones of control from the formation they are charging. From Counter Charge All the normal charge move rules apply, Is that intended? Or does the italicised text overrule the Counter Charge text? If the former, the Aspirants count as Movement 40, and therefore would be permitted the 10cm Counter Charge. If not, they wouldn't. Morgan Vening |
Author: | Carrington [ Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - Infiltrator |
Quote: (Hena @ 13 Jul. 2009, 06:59 ) The infiltrate doesn't affect counter charge. From FAQ 2.1.4 Infiltrators Q: Do Infiltrators get double movement if they counter charge? A: No. As it states in the rulebook the double movement is only when the Infiltrator charges. Heh.  That FAQ sounds a little defensive. It sounds like the rulebook muddied the distinction between charges and counter-charges... leaving some room for interpretation as to whether the infiltrator was charging when it made a counter charge move. The weight of final interpretation would fall on the fact that infiltrator is not a "normal" rule for charge moves. |
Author: | The_Real_Chris [ Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:51 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - Infiltrator |
Well technically its not a charge rule its a special rule, different section of the rulebook and everything ![]() |
Author: | Carrington [ Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarification - Infiltrator |
Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 13 Jul. 2009, 14:51 ) Well technically its not a charge rule its a special rule, different section of the rulebook and everything ![]() Absolutely: "infiltrator" is a "special" rather than a "normal" charge rule.... My point is simply that there is some danger in allowing adjectives like "normal" to be a load-bearing element in a sentence of rules. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |