Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Overwatch disembark question
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15881
Page 1 of 1

Author:  alansa [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 1:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

So... as we all know. you can overwatch a formation after it completes a move. Also you can overwatch if units disembark.

A formation, with units in transports, makes a move. Can I overwatch the transports before the infantry inside disembarks?

Or is the move only considered complete when the infantry disembark (or your opponent declares the infantry will stay in the transports)

Intuition has always told me the latter, but technically....?

Author:  Ginger [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 1:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

Check out the answers here, but in summary both are correct :smile: According to Neal:-
1) OW on troops disembarking from A/c or after planetfall occurs after disembarkation
2) OW on 'ground' transports may take place before or after disembarkation at the firer's discretion. (and one of the reasons I did not want to assault through your OW MW formations :laugh:

However, Planetfalling does raise another question on the timing of when OW fire is taken. Does the opponent declare OW after each formation arrives, or should he wait until all formations are on table?




Author:  alansa [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

Thinks for the link ginger. Yeah, I'd honestly never considered it till you mentioned it at one point yesterday. A bonus for the overwatcher.

Had it sunk in properly I would have held off and used my overwatching macro BP guys on your assaulting tacticals, instead of the supporting devestators, electing to fire before you disembarked, and avoiding the the problem of covering myself with my own barrages!

Which brings me on to another question, related to recent topics. Am I at -1 to shoot myself (with a barrage) if I'm in cover?!?!?

Author:  Mephiston [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

I'd say so, but it must have been a very weird position for it to be a problem!

Author:  alansa [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

Not weird, I would say you'd see it a fair bit.

Your BP units are on overwatch. The enemy assaults you (just for simplicty, they have jump packs) The enemy ends their move in b2b contact with you. Your units and his are pretty mixed up. You open fire with your barrage. You are forced to cover as many of the enemy units as possible, which also means you cover yourself! (Errm, perhaps I'd better not use the barrages after all, unless my armour is much stronger than his I guess...)




Author:  Mephiston [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

Hmmm, an Orky problem I think in formations with odd boy suppa guns. Most other arty is rarely on OW as on a sustain you can normally hit something.

Author:  nealhunt [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

Before or after, at the firer's discretion.

OW can happen after any move.  Disembarking is considered a separate move, so on a double and shoot, the moving formation could be targeted at the end of the first move, and the end of the second move, or after the infantry dismounts.

There are a couple caveats - Triggering OW is only ground moves.  Aircraft landing and planetfall is not considered "moving" for purposes of OW because they are not ground moves.  You cannot fire at an aircraft or planetfall unit until it disembarks.

Author:  alansa [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

So when troops disembark from a lander, you can OW at either the disembarking troops or the lander?

(in an air assault, I know they're all the same formation so hits can always be allocated against the lander)

Author:  nealhunt [ Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Overwatch disembark question

Quote: (alansa @ 15 Jun. 2009, 14:37 )

So when troops disembark from a lander, you can OW at either the disembarking troops or the lander?

(in an air assault, I know they're all the same formation so hits can always be allocated against the lander)

Yes, you can shoot either.  Based on the WE transport rules, they are all the same formation until the end of the action, regardless of whether it's an assault or not.  The landing aircraft is a valid target and since it's a WE, it can always be targeted specifically.

(If there were a WE transport that could carry another WE, that wouldn't be true, but since none can...)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/