Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Vehicle disembarkation from air transports
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15776
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Ginger [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Landing Craft and Landas can carry vehicles as well as troops.
When disembarking from the air transport
  • Can the troops be considered to be inside their vehicles when they disembark?
  • If so, they can get out once the vehicle has disembarked, ending up 10cm from the air transport?
  • Are the vehicles intended to disembark on both sides of the transport, or may they disembark from one side only?





Author:  Ginger [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

As far as I am aware, the "Rusian Doll" tactic only applies to working out the totals of transported units and typically within spacecraft, not to their position when being transported. So it prevents people buying 6x THawks and assuming that the entire spacecraft capacity has been increased to 68x infantry units. And it equally prevents carrying 24x units of tacticals (12x in the transported Rhinos)

I am assuming that the correct number of troops is carried, but am questioning whether they may disembark "loaded up" or not. Part of the issue being that if this is disallowed, then troops must disembark on foot as they cannot both disembark and embark at the same time, and this in turn limits the tactical options. It also seem to go slightly against the "fluff".




Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Interesting question ; I don't think this situation is covered in the rules at all.

Author:  nealhunt [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

The ground transport and air transport disembarking are separate rules.  Even if the transport capacity is rationalized by them being inside the vehicles, that doesn't make it a ground transport move.  They are still disembarking from an aircraft as part of the aircraft's activation and should use the aircraft rules.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Therefore *everything* must disembark within 5cm of the transport aircraft, with the transported troops either in or out of their transports?




Author:  nealhunt [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Quote: (Evil and Chaos @ 05 Jun. 2009, 16:46 )

Therefore *everything* must disembark within 5cm of the transport aircraft, with the transported troops either in or out of their transports?

Yes (with the obvious exception that jump packs and skimmers may dismount 15cm as with the normal air transport rules).

Ditto for Planetfall dismounts which, like aircraft, have their own particular rules.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Fair enough it looks like I've been playing it right all along then, I just never considered trying to wangle an extra 5cm of movement out of the dismount before. :)

Author:  Ginger [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 5:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Ok, so they may be inside their vehicles when they disembark from the air transport, but may not then get out. Thanks Neal

Are there any restrictions as to where the vehicles may be placed (I am thinking of the Landing Craft here, where the vehicles are obviously on both sides)?

And one other slight query:- Can the Landing craft carry both Land Raiders and Rhinos within the numeric constraints of the transport capacity. So could it carry 3x Rhinos and 2x Land Raiders; or even 3x Land Raiders and a Hunter?




Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Can the Landing craft carry both Land Raiders and Rhinos within the numeric constraints of the transport capacity. So could it carry 3x Rhinos and 2x Land Raiders; or even 3x Land Raiders and a Hunter?

Technically, no.

Author:  Evil and Chaos [ Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Vehicle disembarkation from air transports

Will that change go into the NetERC Army Book then?

Presumably Scions will be going in there so it would be sensible to have all Marine using the same stats!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/