Quote: (Lord Inquisitor @ 02 Mar. 2009, 01:13 )
Quote: (Ginger @ 01 Mar. 2009, 20:09 )
1) Aircraft activate and move onto the battlefield, completing their flying missions. Later in the turn, an enemy air formation ends up in the arc of fire, so can they be shot at by the earlier formation?
Oh yes!! Note that only if they
end their move in the arc, not if they just move through (Hena pointed this out to me), so it doesn't come up that often.
This needs to be clarified (within the rules or in the FAQ), I think. Upon further reading, I can now see this interpretation, but it still doesn't spring to mind as being so*. The line about arcs seems to be there to circumvent the LOS rules normally associated with Flak. The intermixing of what I feel are two seperate rules (AA attacks and Flak attacks).
* If an Intercepting unit has an enemy aircraft fly through it's weapon range and arcs, does it get to fire? It's not on a Ground Attack mission, so that rule wouldn't apply? Also, what about a bomber on a Ground Attack mission that has an enemy bomber on Ground Attack pass within it's range and arcs? Does it get to fire, or no?
Also, after re-reading the Aircraft rules again, is it accurate that an Intercepting unit that gets shot at by the Ground Attack unit it is targetting, does NOT receive Blast Markers?
The main reason I've held our group off from using 4.0 is because of the complexity of the rules as written. If you know the intent, rules can be easy to learn, but from a cold read, a more linear approach needs to be given. I have a tonne (1.10231131 US tons) of respect for the ERC, and don't mean any form of disparagement. But I feel 4.0 is in need of work.
Morgan Vening