|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 7 posts ] |
|
Questions on some of the finer points of the rules |
JustinCase
|
Post subject: Questions on some of the finer points of the rules Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:51 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:04 am Posts: 6
|
Hello everyone, At our last game of epic, our group came upon some things in the rules that left us a little confused. They really aren't major problems; they concern very fine points of interpretation. I was hoping some people on this board would be able to clear them up for us. The questions concerned assaults with more than a single formation on a side. The rules concerning this are only given in the Commander special rule section and in the Air Assault section. We were unable to find anything else that even references this situation, and the wording of these sections leaves some confusion as to the correct interpretation. 1st question: If an intermingled formation has been assaulted, can supporting units' hits be allocated to units more than 15cm from them that are within 15cm of the formation making the assault? 2nd question: It states under the Commander rule the combined formations are treated as a single formation; and that if it wins an assault, that each formation receives a number of Blast Markers equal to the number of casualties it suffered. Does this mean that each formation receives a number of Blast markers that the combined formation sustained, or that each formation suffers a number of Blast Markers equal to the number of casualties that particular formation received? 3rd question: Does an assaulting formation have to assault combined formations if they are intermingled (or could he choose to assault only one of the formation and let the other provide support to the enemy formation)? 4th question: If a unit of Scouts is intermingled with a normal formation in such a way that the normal formation cannot be assaulted without entering the Zone of Control of the Scout, can the non-Scout formation be assaulted or would the attacker be forced to assault both of the intermingled formations? Would this be dependent on which of the Zones of Control was entered first (i.e. the normal unit's ZOC or the Scout's ZOC)? Thanks for the answers in advance. JustinCase
|
|
Top |
|
 |
nealhunt
|
Post subject: Questions on some of the finer points of the rules Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:01 pm |
|
Purestrain |
 |
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm Posts: 9617 Location: Nashville, TN, USA
|
The rules concerning this are only given in the Commander special rule section and in the Air Assault section. |
Check the Intermingled Formations special rule in 1.12. it deals with it in considerably more detail than the sections you cited.
Hena got it correct on all counts, but I would like to clarify the first question.
The rules don't say that supporting formation attacks are treated separately from the involved formations. They only say hits may be allocated to units within 15cm of an enemy unit. There is no qualification as to which enemy units. Therefore hits may be allocated to any unit that is within 15cm of any enemy unit, supporting or involved.
It's just like shooting. You don't go individually unit-by-unit to determine which units' hits may be allocated to which defender. You roll for the formation, get a big pile of hits and as long as the target is within range of any one of the attackers, it's a valid target for allocation. All the hits from both involved units and supporting units go into a big pile and are allocated as if they were one "volley."
They would, for example, hit units that are in base contact with the target formation first even though the supporting formation scored the hits and those base-to-base units might be farther from the supporting formation than other units.
Obviously, First Strike is a special case.
====
All that said, there are people who house-rule it that the supporting fire is a separate volley and is allocated independently. As long as you're not in a tournament, play it however your crew likes best.
_________________ Neal
|
Top |
|
 |
nealhunt
|
Post subject: Questions on some of the finer points of the rules Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:40 pm |
|
Purestrain |
 |
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm Posts: 9617 Location: Nashville, TN, USA
|
Yes, that's right.
I would have to check in hit allocation rules on those with respect to allocating support fire hits. Since they are done as a separate "volley" I would tend to lean towards them only being allocable to units in range at that point.
_________________ Neal
|
|
Top |
|
 |
JustinCase
|
Post subject: Questions on some of the finer points of the rules Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 12:57 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:04 am Posts: 6
|
Hello, Sorry, I think all of the players at our table missed that special rule section off to the side while looking for an answer. It pretty much handles all of our questions. Thank you for your time. I do have one more question. If I engage an enemy formation in a firefight, and with the counter-charge, the opposing formation brings one or more of my support formations into the assault, do those formerly-support formations get a counter-charge of their own? Thanks again in advance. JustinCase
|
|
Top |
|
 |
nealhunt
|
Post subject: Questions on some of the finer points of the rules Posted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:51 pm |
|
Purestrain |
 |
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm Posts: 9617 Location: Nashville, TN, USA
|
Nope. They weren't "Engaged" or "charged" as such, so no countercharge. They just get pulled into the assault.
_________________ Neal
|
|
Top |
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 7 posts ] |
|