Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Couple of Quick Questions http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14260 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Malakai [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:35 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
#1 A formation of Tactical Marines is firing at a formation with Infantry and Armored Vehicles. Can half the formation use AP shots and the other half use their AT shots (ie 3 AP shots and 3 AT shots)? #2 If an objective must be held for an entire turn to claim victory what if it were contested part way through? For example, end of turn 3 the objective is contested. End of turn four the objective is no longer contested (the enemy formation contesting has broken and withdrawn). Can the formation holding the objective claim that it has been held for one full turn, even though part of that turn it was contested? Or does the friendly formation need to hold onto the objective until the end of turn 5 (without it becoming contested during the course of that turn) to claim it. Thanks |
Author: | Chroma [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:56 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (Malakai @ 17 Dec. 2008, 23:35 ) #1 A formation of Tactical Marines is firing at a formation with Infantry and Armored Vehicles. Can half the formation use AP shots and the other half use their AT shots (ie 3 AP shots and 3 AT shots)? You decide whether to fire AP or AT on a weapon-by-weapon basis, so each unit of Tactical Marines decides which type of shot to take.  A unit if Devastators could fire one of each type, if desired, since they have two Missile Launchers. #2 If an objective must be held for an entire turn to claim victory what if it were contested part way through? For example, end of turn 3 the objective is contested. End of turn four the objective is no longer contested (the enemy formation contesting has broken and withdrawn). Can the formation holding the objective claim that it has been held for one full turn, even though part of that turn it was contested? Or does the friendly formation need to hold onto the objective until the end of turn 5 (without it becoming contested during the course of that turn) to claim it This one is tougher to answer... in the Tournament Scenario, "holding" objectives is only checked at the end of a turn, so anything that happens *during* the turn is irrelevant. If a different scenario requires different "victory conditions" then "during the turn" events might have an effect. Do you have a specific scenario in mind? |
Author: | Malakai [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:05 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (Chroma @ 17 Dec. 2008, 17:56 ) This one is tougher to answer... in the Tournament Scenario, "holding" objectives is only checked at the end of a turn, so anything that happens *during* the turn is irrelevant. If a different scenario requires different "victory conditions" then "during the turn" events might have an effect. Do you have a specific scenario in mind? My wife and I are replaying the training scenarios again. It just says that an objective must be held for one full turn in order to claim victory. |
Author: | Chroma [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:31 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (Malakai @ 18 Dec. 2008, 00:05 ) My wife and I are replaying the training scenarios again. It just says that an objective must be held for one full turn in order to claim victory. Ah! Victory Conditions: You capture the objective if you have a unit within 15cms of it in the end phase and your opponent does not. To win the game, you must capture the objective and hold it for one full game turn. You only check for "capture" at the end of turns, so the "Victory Condition" would mean a formation capturing it at the end of Turn X and still being with 15cm of it at the end of Turn X+1... you don't need to "recapture" it, so nearby enemies don't actually affect you.  If your formation was "pushed off" of it, then you'd need to recapture it again. Since the training scenarios are more basic than a full scenario, there doesn't appear to be any "contesting" of objectives, at least not in the ones I looked at. |
Author: | Malakai [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:30 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Thanks, one last question. Unless hit by a macro or TK weapon infantry mounted in transports that are destroyed are allowed a saving throw (if they have a save) right? |
Author: | Chroma [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:35 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (Malakai @ 18 Dec. 2008, 01:30 ) Thanks, one last question. Unless hit by a macro or TK weapon infantry mounted in transports that are destroyed are allowed a saving throw (if they have a save) right? Any units transported suffer the same effects as the type of hit that has destroyed their transports... so, if it allows a save, then they can try to make a save, if it doesn't allow a save... they die. Additionally, if they *don't* have a save, such as Imperial Guard Infantry, they can attempt a 6+ save to survive... this was added in the 2008 Errata. |
Author: | Malakai [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:40 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Thanks for the quick replies Chroma. These training scenarios are really helpful. Though I don't remember having as many questions when I played them before. Maybe I need a few pints to help me remember better... ![]() |
Author: | Malakai [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:45 pm ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
I have another question. If infantry are aboard transports at the beginning of the turn can they disembark and perform a Sustained Fire action? I'm inclined to say no, but I just want to be sure. Thanks! ![]() |
Author: | vytzka [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 8:59 pm ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
No as you only disembark at the end of a move. |
Author: | Irondeath [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:02 pm ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
No, embarking or disembarking is only allowed as part of an action with a move (Engage,Advance, Double, March, Marshall if you elect to move or during withdrawal moves) SPECIAL RULE 1.7.5 Transport Vehicle ... The vehicle simply moves into base contact with the unit to be picked up, and then carries on with its move as normal. Note that the transported unit is not allowed to move themselves during the move when they are picked up. Transported units may disembark at the end of any move after the move in which is it was picked up. ... |
Author: | Irondeath [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:05 pm ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (vytzka @ 18 Dec. 2008, 20:59 ) No as you only disembark at the end of a move. While this is the correct answer, it is always better to provide a proper reference from either the rulebook, the Errata and FAQ or at least some discussion on this board. ![]() |
Author: | vytzka [ Thu Dec 18, 2008 9:09 pm ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Thanks, I'll have that in mind ![]() |
Author: | Malakai [ Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:59 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Yes, yet another "quick question". This is becoming embarrassing. ![]() Do you guys classify ruined buildings as ruins or buildings? I ask because I can see vehicles driving through some of the more broken sections, but the wall sections look to be impassible to anything but infantry. thanks once again ![]() |
Author: | Chroma [ Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:07 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (Malakai @ 19 Dec. 2008, 00:59 ) Do you guys classify ruined buildings as ruins or buildings? I ask because I can see vehicles driving through some of the more broken sections, but the wall sections look to be impassible to anything but infantry. They can be *both*, you just make it clear with your opponent beforehand! |
Author: | Malakai [ Fri Dec 19, 2008 8:18 am ] |
Post subject: | Couple of Quick Questions |
Quote: (Chroma @ 18 Dec. 2008, 23:07 ) Quote: (Malakai @ 19 Dec. 2008, 00:59 ) Do you guys classify ruined buildings as ruins or buildings? I ask because I can see vehicles driving through some of the more broken sections, but the wall sections look to be impassible to anything but infantry. They can be *both*, you just make it clear with your opponent beforehand! But can they be both and be part of the same structure? For example two walls are intact, but the third is broken and the fourth is practically nonexistent. How do you deal with those types? |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |