Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Counter-Charging and Drawing in Units http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1411 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | code_ronin [ Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | Counter-Charging and Drawing in Units |
I have a question about counter-chargers drawing other units into the engagement. The rules say that if the counter-chargers contact a unit from another formation: (1.12.4) "Any enemy formation that are contacted by counter-charging units are drawn into the assault, and will fight as if they had made the assault themselves. Treat them and the original attacking formation as a single formation for all rules purposes for the duration of the assault. A 2D6 is used to resolve a combined assault. If the attacker loses then each formation is broken. ..." Finally, in 1.12.9 (Winner Consolidates) it says: "Any units on the winning side may then move 5cm." The basic question is, if a defending counter-charges and contacts units from an additional formation, is that new /formation/ affected by the combat results, or the new /units/, or both? For example: ABCDEFG 1 2 3 ? ? ?4 5 6 Formation 1-2-3 charges and contacts units A, C, and E of the A-through-G formation. Units B, D, and F counter-charge, putting in two bases on each unit in 1-2-3. Unit G counter-charges and contacts unit 4, which belongs to formation 4-5-6. (Whew!) Now 4 temporarily is a part of the attacking formation. Q1: The Attackers lose. Does formation 1-2-3 and formation 4-5-6 break? It appears that the answer is yes. Q2: The Attackers lose. If the answer to Q1 was no, how do you break a single unit in a formation? Q3: The Attackers win. Does unit 4 get to consolidate with the winners? Or does formation 4-5-6 get to consolidate? It would seem that if the 4-5-6 formation is affected negatively by losing, it would be affected positively by winning (i.e. get to consolidate). The reason I ask is because this situation greatly impacts Eldars in assault, which can consolidate 35 cm rather than 5 cm. Thanks. Dale |
Author: | Markconz [ Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | Counter-Charging and Drawing in Units |
Q1 - yes 123 and 456 would break. Q3 - Formation 456 consolidates. |
Author: | dptdexys [ Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:22 am ] |
Post subject: | Counter-Charging and Drawing in Units |
If a single unit from a formation is brought in to an engagement action through counter charging then all of that units formation is involved not just the individual units. |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |