Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Rules Clarifications - Transports Setup http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14055 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:06 pm ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarifications - Transports Setup |
6.1.6. Set-Up Remaining Formations ...Units being transported must start the game already loaded into the transport vehicle that will bring them into play (ie, an aircraft or unit with the planetfall ability)... Just wanting clarification that this applies/does not apply to ALL formations, and not just those that will be entering from reserve (which the ie section and it's placement within section 6.1.6 could imply). Namely, Marine Tacticals MUST/MAY/CANNOT start in their Rhinos. If must, how do Ork players feel about GunFortress/BattleFortress? A single TK hit, and you're looking at a lot of green corpses. Morgan Vening |
Author: | Chroma [ Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:26 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarifications - Transports Setup |
Units kept in reserve must either aircraft, or be going to enter play in a transport aircraft or by teleportation. Reserve formations entering play in aircraft or by teleportation should be placed aside with units that wwill enter play via planetfall. These formations are not ‘secret’ and your opponent may inspect them at any time. Units being transported must start the game already loaded into the transport vehicle that will bring them into play (ie, an aircraft or unit with the planetfall ability). The "must start the game already loaded" only applies to units/formations being transported *to* the battlefield, instead of being deployed normally, i.e., the second paragraph above only applies to the paragraph directly preceding it. EDIT - I never realized how many little typos there are in the EPIC rules! |
Author: | Morgan Vening [ Fri Nov 28, 2008 1:41 am ] |
Post subject: | Rules Clarifications - Transports Setup |
That's what I thought made sense, then I got into issues of logic and wording due to the liberal use of the word 'transport' through the rules. Marines have a special 'transport' rule (6.3.1) Vehicles/War Machines have a special 'transport' rule (1.7.5) And now off-board setups have 6.1.6 I see it happen in games systems frequently (BloodBowl's 'Block' and 'block' being the most recent I can recall). And use of 'common sense' is all well and good, until two people have different interpretations (both of which can be wrong). Good to have that clarified. Now just need to get used to the rest of the rules (and not forget stuff like BM for missing an Initiative Test, or BM=Hit No Save to broken units), and starting to learn the actual tactical aspects of the game. Viva La Epique! EDIT Response: There also seems to be quite a few numbering changes. Example, 1.7.5 refers to 2.2.6 (Macro Weapons), but 2.2.6 was pushed to 2.2.7 because of the inclusion of Indirect Fire as a Weapon Trait. Morgan Vening |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |