Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13941
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mspaetauf [ Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:29 am ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

Hi everyone!

Since the specialist-games forums are already down  :disagree: , i try to find help here!

My question is about transport aircraft, and picking up troops. (Space Marine Thunderhawk to be precise)
In the rulebook it says that you can land with an aircraft and disembark any troops on board etc. [i'm not giving the exact quote here...].
But it also states the following: "...alternatively, a landing aircraft can pick up a formation, provided all the bases are within 5cm of the aircraft..."

So does this mean that i just need the activation of the Thunderhawk and land to pick up a unit? Because i always thought i have to land the aircraft, and then activate the unit i want to transport, and use the activation to "move" on board the ship.

For example: i could use my bikes for an assault, then consolidate them all together at one place, and at a later time of the turn i can land my thunderhawk there and get the bikes on board?
Works like that?

thanks for helping,
Markus

Author:  old_gamer [ Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:00 am ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

In the example given, could the Thunderhawk move in, land, take the bikes on board, then exit in the end phase? (All just using its own move, not the bike's)

Author:  GR00V3R [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:15 am ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

But the Thunderhawk would have to be empty, though, right? If any units disembark from a transport aircraft in the turn it lands, it can't pick up and disengage in the End Phase, can it?

Author:  GR00V3R [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:19 am ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

So, in theory, how do you think this would play out in a single turn:

THUNDERHAWK 1 (TH1) is carrying two Assault formations.
THUNDERHAWK 2 (TH2) is empty.

1. TH1 takes an Air Assault activation and lands 14cm from an enemy formation. Its Assault troops disembark into base-to-base contact with the enemy formation. The Assault is resolved. Let's assume the Assault troops win. They get a consolidation move? and arrange themselves for embarcation.

2. TH2 takse an Advance activation and lands within 5cm of the Assault troops. They Assault troops embark.

3. In the End Phase, TH2 disengages and leaves the board.

Is my thinking sound?

Author:  Moscovian [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:28 am ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

I've done this... Once.  Tried to do it several times.  It isn't as easy as it sounds but it was fun when I got it to work!

Author:  The_Real_Chris [ Thu Nov 13, 2008 11:58 am ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

I try to do it with terminators.
Turn 1
Teleport, fight.
Try to survive till end of turn.
Land thawk and pick up.
Turn 2
Use re-roll to activate t hwak, air assault.

Author:  nealhunt [ Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

Just a technicality, the Thawk doesn't necessarily have to be empty, just have enough slots that it can load the troops.  You might have a stand or two already loaded from a previous turn or something.

Author:  Moscovian [ Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

Neal, if the T-Hawk had 4 units loaded and ready to drop off and 4 to pick up, it still couldn't do both though, correct?  Just to clarify, the T-Hawk has to choose to load or unload only, correct?

Author:  mspaetauf [ Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

HI!

Thanks for all the answers!
This just made the Thunderhawk so much better in my opinon.

cheers,
Markus

Author:  nealhunt [ Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Transport Aircraft Picking Up Troops

Quote: (Moscovian @ 14 Nov. 2008, 16:14 )

Neal, if the T-Hawk had 4 units loaded and ready to drop off and 4 to pick up, it still couldn't do both though, correct?  Just to clarify, the T-Hawk has to choose to load or unload only, correct?

Yep.  You get one "free" embark or disembark per landing, not both.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/